Kale Chips and Texas

Harumph. Q is somewhere in Oklahoma, driving, and Gooner and I are here. In Texas. Without him. His nightstand is empty of nearly everything and my heart catches every time I see it. Two months feels like a loooooooooooooooong time.

Thanks y’all for the well wishes! This is an exciting time for us! I’m really looking forward to the future.

This is my current FB Profile Picture and I’ve received quite a few comments about my “veggies.” This is kale. This was my first introduction to kale. (Pardon me, I hear Gooner helping the cat eat. Grrrrrrrreat.) Anyway, I’ve heard GREAT things about kale chips. Wiki says that it is a form of cabbage. Really? …full of antioxidants AND anti inflammatory.So, go figure, it is healthier than a bag of Doritos. And they were yummy, BUT they don’t keep. Put them in the fridge and they turn slimy, um GROSS.  Anywho, I didn’t even chop them. I covered the pan with olive oil and placed whole leaves down and at 350 they baked. Kale chips are super easy and go well with just about anything. We ate them with black bean burgers. I need to try those again, BUT my desire to try new food plummeted when my favorite person drove away. YET, Gooner really like the burgers so I may have to make them again.

So about moving…yah we were open to moving as soon as we had a taste of Texas heat. It is no secret that we hate that. Hate is a strong word, but Texas is special in that way….it NEVER cools down in the summer. Your AC goes strong morning noon and night. I used to live in Nebraska and it would break into the hundreds BUT it would cool down to at least 80 at night and THAT my friends makes a huge difference. And so, we are quite happy to have completed our last, God willing, Texas summer. I’m pretty certain Gooner and I will come for visits in the summer so we can SWIM, but the ever sweating Q probably won’t.

Gooner was born in Texas. She has big hair. She also has a pair of cowboy boots to wear this fall. Hopefully moving will keep her from saying this like, “Are yooooooooooooooou all-ri-i-iyt? The Rai-yn is schore ni-i-aice.” That translates into, “Are you alright? The rain sure is nice.” heh.Gooner with her cousin. There are some things we WILL miss about Texas, SWIMIN’ is one of them!

Categories: Gooner | Tags: | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Kale Chips and Texas

  1. So, I need to catch up on the move and Q being gone for 2 months!! O M G…I hope it’s for something really good!!! I feel for yah, girl, that is rough :(

  2. PS– I LOVE stinky Kale and your new FB pic, so pretty!

  3. Adie

    It was 50 degrees this morning when I dropped the girls off. Brrr! You sure you are ready? It is already freezing!!!

  4. The kale chips sound interesting. I love pretty much any veggie that’s roasted in the oven with a dash of salt and olive oil.
    I KNOW that you will be lost without Q, but I’m sure that ime will go fast and moving is exciting in it’s own way.
    I love that Gooner’s hair is big! You can take the girl out of Texas, but can you take the Texas out of the girl?

  5. I love kale–I especially love it in a few different soups I make, it holds it’s crispness wonderfully. I’ll have to try those chips next time I buy some too. Sounds really good. Two months is a long time… I’m so sorry. It will go quickly for you, but remember that Gooner has no idea of what’s going on, even if you do your best to explain it to her, she will probably go through some mourning for the sudden change in her life since she has no idea it will be over in a relatively short period of time… poor sweet baby. Anyway, I am SO excited for you guys–ugh, I cannot imagine that heat… YAY for four distinct seasons! :-)

  6. Clarissa

    So kale chips are just kale baked in olive oil? Explain please. I’m a bit confused as to how they don’t burn or turn into a gross, cooked-spinach-like mess.

  7. M

    Hopefully you will miss me too and not just the swimming?

  8. Congratulations! I love Colorado!! Two months apart is HARD stuff though. You (and Gooner) will be in my prayers!

  9. Awww two months! YUCK.

    That said, I am intrigued by the kale chips. I made a kale salad a couple weeks ago (my first encounter with kale) and it was pretty good, so maybe the kale chips would be a good thing to try!

    Hang in there, dearie. I hope the two months go by quickly!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

