Broccoli and Kale Pasta

Q and I are going vegetarian for the month of July. I didn’t mention that? Well, we are. We like meat, a lot. (Even Jesus ate meat.) BUT, our livers need a break. That’s right, liver. We haven’t started a formal detox yet, I’m still reading the book, but for now we are off meat.

Broccoli and Kale Pasta

  • Whole wheat pasta
  • Broccoli Crown
  • Kale – 4 Stems
  • Green Tea
  • Olive Oil
  • Basil Pesto
  • Tomato
  • Various Spices

Boil the water. Steep the green tea (it adds antioxidants to your pasta) for five minutes. Add the pasta as directed. Add the kale and broccoli for the last 3 minutes. Drain. Drizzle olive oil, add pesto, add tomato slices, and sprinkle with your desired spices. (We used Italian seasonings, garlic, salt, and pepper.)

It was SUPER tasty!

We enjoyed the tea infused noodles intensely! I’ve never tried Kale, ever. I’m interested in making kale chips later this week. Surprisingly the kale had little flavour. Are you going to try it???

Update: Apparently wheat pasta is difficult on the liver. It’s not BAD for you, but if you are preparing for a liver detox this is food on the NO list.

You wereΒ  all so encouraging about the blog AND my weight loss.Β  For about a year I’ve been making SMALL changes. Whatever everyone says is true, you can’t change everything at once. Over time I’ve cut small things out of our diet, or changed a workout or … But suddenly I’ve had a break through. After a year of small changes I’ve started making huge leaps. Like SUDDENLY we are eating organic produce. I’ve hemmed and hawed about price and necessity, but this week we bought organic. How can I detox if I’m eating pesticides?

Categories: Cuisine, Wellness | Tags: , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Broccoli and Kale Pasta

  1. mmm. This looks super tasty. Want to come cook veggies and pasta for me?

  2. I am going to have to check out this book! You are inspiring me. You don’t even want to know what our diet is!!

  3. That recipe looks delicious! I love kale! I really don’t like whole wheat pasta, but maybe the tea would help me change my mind.

  4. I just got back from lunch with friends where we were talking about going vegetarian. I did it once for about 3 months, but I got tired of the same old same old. I guess I was too picky about my protein sources.

    One thing that I loved that you might want to try are the Morning Star (I think that’s the brand) Spicy Black Bean Burgers. Yum! I top them with salsa or sometimes crumble them and put them in a rolled up lettuce leaf instead of using a bun.

    Good luck. I’ll be interested to hear how you like going vegetarian.

  5. Adie

    What a fabulous idea to use teabags to cook pasts. You could add a number of different ones with berry or honey to give it a greAt flavor! I am going to try this. What are the health differences between wheat and barilla plus pasta? My boss makes fresh pasta. It is insane.

  6. Stacey

    Yay! I’m glad you are joining me with Vegetarian Month!! My first day was a success–didn’t miss meat at all! I meant to blog about it and the super tasty Spinach and Feta Quesadillas I made for dinner…but I haven’t gotten to it you. Look for it coming soon! Keep the recipes coming–I’m going to have to try this one!

  7. That is good to know about tea infused pasta! I’ll hafta remember that. I like kale, especially in Italian Wedding Soup (which you could make with veggie broth and w/out the meatballs!). I bet it’d be good with that big pearled Israeli couscous. Hmmm….I’m so hungry I’m tempted to make hummus out of black beans. Did you ever try hummus? Oh, and you should talk about the Pad Thai you made today, not that I’m telling you what to blog about, but manohman, inquiring minds want to know!!! πŸ˜‰

    • Well I’m not going to make soup in the summer. My man just wouldn’t go for that and we BOTH have to eat. πŸ˜‰ I haven’t tried making hummus again. It was such a fail that I’m nervous!

  8. Yum. Meat is my passion. My reason for being. My delight. So, I could never be a vegetarian. Howevers, I have been trying to incorporate vegetarian meals into our diet more regularly. I have never heard of making pasta with teabags… that is so awesome! I make my own pasta a lot, but this year I’d like to try to make it with spinach and the like. Also, I adore kale… I have a few different soup recipes that I use it in regularly. Also, I’m with LeAnna… I want to know more about the Pad Thai. I would specifically like to know if you made your own Pad Thai sauce… or if you just used storebought. I made my own this time, and it was good, but as I read the ingredients off the bottle of pad thai sauce in the store and then bought the ingredients to simulate what they had, I was only guessing on the quantities… I’d be really excited to know how you made it. -)

  9. Oh wow! Good luck with the no eating meat.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

