Veggie: Week One

It is going GREAT.

  1. I was/am totally surprised at how I don’t miss meat – I thought I would, ESPECIALLY since Gooner is still getting meat.
  2. We are definitely not planning on becoming vegetarian, but we will consume less meat for sure!
  3. Q and I have more energy. We are eating foods that are easier for our bodies to digest so we don’t feel nearly as lethargic. Lions have it right when they SLEEP after eating meat.

We have been eating a lot of these:

And they are SO yummy! So I’m curious…. What is your favorite fruit???

Q and I spent yesterday at Ikea. Can you believe that we came out with NOTHING!!??

I made bean burgers for the first time…. YUM! I am going to tweak the recipe a bit before I POST the recipe…

Categories: Wellness | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Veggie: Week One

  1. Yey!!! Good Job!!! Isn’t it AMAZING the difference you feel??? I agree with you…you can’t 100% commit, your body needs different things at different times in your life, but cutting meat down significantly makes a HUGE difference! I’m proud to say it’s been 3 1/2 months and I don’t miss it..eating fish still is helpful. I am yet to munch on live young thai coconuts..they are always SO pricey when I see them 😦

    I look forward to your recipe!!! Need another bean burger recipe!

  2. Well, I admit I’m of the camp that believes meat (lean, organic, free-range, wild) is part of a healthy diet. But I’m also of the camp that LOVES vegetables and ADORES food in general, so I’m delighted to hear you are enjoying a more veggie-heavy diet.

    My all-time fave fruit has to be raspberries, but I do eat apples like nobody’s business and I enjoy a good strawberry or blueberry every now and then.

  3. Favorite fruit: peaches. But really, the only ones I don’t enjoy are melon (of all varieties) and bananas. I love coconut, too!

    Also, how did you leave IKEA empty-handed. I am so proud of you! Self control at its finest! Actually, sometimes they just don’t have the thing you’re specifically looking for. As long as I stay out of fabrics and kitchen gadgets I do okay. However, since the closest IKEA is in Salt Lake City or Minneapolis…I don’t ever go. Their online store is lacking all the things I want, so no IKEA for me. Come on Denver! Bring me an IKEA!

  4. I can’t pick a favorite fruit. I love them all, especially since I get so many right off the tree here in my valley. I love any fruit fresh off the tree. Cherries, apples, peaches, oh, baby! We can’t give up red meat… I love it like a fat kid loves cupcakes… but, I’ve been doing my best to eat mostly fish and chicken, and also make the meat the secondary part of the meal, not the primary. It’s so true, you do feel better! So glad what you’re doing is working for you.

  5. I’m honestly more of a veggie person. But, as far as fruit goes, I guess it would be pineapples? I just thought of something… why do they call them pine…apples? That’s just a little weird.

  6. Stacey

    I hear ya! I haven’t been missing meat at all. I’m really enjoying this. Last night after we got back into town, I made a black bean and corn quesadilla and fresh guac with a avacado that finally ripened. Right now, I’ve got homegrown zucchini, peppers, tomatoes, butternut squash, yellow squash, and herbs from various gardens of family members and co-workers. I’m super excited!!

  7. Yum, that coconut looks delicious! I just love coconut milk, especially in coffee. My favorite fruit would be a tie between strawberries & bananas. 🙂 A Bean burger sounds really good!

  8. That maranatha AB is soo good! And I have never had a real coconut before but now I want one!!

  9. I don’t have a favorite fruit…I love it all! 🙂

  10. I love kiwi. mmm mmm good.

    We plan to move around August 1st. Things could change. We’ll live with my mom until our house here in H-town sells and we buy a new one in KC. Crossing my fingers that’s not too long. 🙂

  11. do you know i have never tried a natural coconut like that? i always want to buy one at the store and try it … but afraid i wont like it.

    ps. i FINALLY follow this new blog … i was wondering why i wasnt seeing you around … then realized i didnt save the new address. duh.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

