Friend or Foe?

The DIET SCALE!!! I used to not need things like this. In the past I would eat and stop when I was full. I made good choices, healthy ones and THEN Gooner. As soon as I was pregnant I allowed myself just about whatever I wanted in that last trimester. It was the last two month where I put on the weight…um awesome. I was eating for one and a half right? All this to say, I lost the ability to gauge an ounce of cheese, or half a cup of rice, or a cup of spaghetti. And THEN enter the digital diet scale that happens to be Weight Watchers.

That is me sans makeup, BUT I have showered. ๐Ÿ™‚ Just keeping it real folks. I have decided that the diet scale is a friend. At times I err on the side of too much, so I’m thankful that it keeps me in check. Other times I get a whole lot more than I would have given myself! Awesome! For lunch today I threw together our veggie remains since we will be grocery shopping tomorrow. Behold:

I would have given myself less rice. The rice there is 2 ounces or 1/4th of a cup! The scale saved me. It was SUPER yummy. I used hummus to flavour the wrap and it was delightful! And what do you see on those cucumbers…? HONEY MUSTARD. I know, it has high fructose corn syrup. I know it is bad for me. I KNOW. But I love it. That drizzle of yumminess was about 50 calories.

Do you use a diet scale?

Categories: Review | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Friend or Foe?

  1. Lunch looks delicious and you look gorgeous!! I need one of those scales!!

  2. YES! I am diabetic, and I make my dog’s food, which you weigh out according to her weight, so the weighing of food is pretty much par for the course around here… it really is amazing how much it helps. That being said, my scale’s battery died a few months ago, and I keep forgetting to figure out what crazy kind I need when I go to the store, so I haven’t replaced it yet. I NEED TO BADLY THO. I shall pledge to do that this–ok, maybe next–week. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’ve never used one. Did you do weight watchers? I’m thinking about it and also thought about Nutisystem. What are your thoughts? I just NEVER cook for myself so it can get bad with what I eat!

    • I have never participated with Weight Watchers, but I have known quite a few people who have found success with this route. Calories in v. calories out. I honestly don’t know the nutritional value of Nutrisystem but I have an aunt and uncle doing that right now and they LOVE it and have lost weight!

      You should cook; it is delightful!!!

  4. I do not use this. But then again, I haven’t been trying to be that healthy lately and have just been trying to eat when my brain needs energy. Sorry I disappeared for a bit. I’m back in full swing (blogging and commenting!).

    Not that you missed me or anything, but you will notice my return! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I used to use a diet scale religiously. It all started when I did WW 7 years ago. I think I threw it away when we moved, but I nay buy another one today.

  6. We do weigh our food sometimes. I use it when I’m unsure how much pasta to cook when using a recipe and the hubs uses it to weigh his servings of fruit. We really should use it more than we do.

  7. I’ve never used a diet scale. I think it would make me get too obsessive about my weight and such. I have though wondered if my portions are too big. Maybe I could use it for a few weeks or so just to see how my portions measure but then I think I’d have to get rid of it so I didn’t get too worried about weight. Eating disorders are always a fear of mine, as seeing a low number on the scale is always a high for me. I just fear if I used a food scale I in turn would become obsessed with the real scale and numbers. Irrational fear probably.
    I do though love honey mustard! Yummy! I have been eating it on avocados ALOT lately. Briannas dressing brand to be specific ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I don’t use it all the time, but it is good to bust it out now and then for a reality check. With a little one, you don’t have time to weigh everything! I will have to try Brianna’s!

  8. I have a food scale, and had a digital one that I returend (a wedding gift)..kept the manual one…hah, and I use it to weigh mail :/

    I should use it more for food, but I just don’t like getting too nutty with it…however, sometimes it could come in handy!!

  9. Jessca

    Some people need makeup; you do not.

  10. i think i need to use a scale!!! girl, you are looking so thin! you are so beautiful!

  11. Wow, good for you, I am impressed! Clearly I am not that disciplined – though I’m sure if I bought one for myself and used it I would be very surprised at actually HOW MUCH I eat! Cause, yeah, I love to eat ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Oh, NO TIME for a food scale. You look great BTW ๐Ÿ™‚ I would end up dumping my food all over the place trying to weigh it, get mad, curse and launch the scale across the house. Maybe after the kids are a little older ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I should get me one of those! I am terrible about estimating amounts. Lately I’ve been doing better about using measuring spoons/cups. It helps!

  14. I bought my boyfriend one of these that he never used. Now that we moved in together, I’m wondering where it is, because I def want to use it!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

