Austin, TX

This week we are going to buy wheat berries for Enchiladas! Yum! I’ve never cooked with wheat berries…any tips? Ok, I love meat but I have to be honest – I felt better during our month without meat than I do now. It’s true. I don’t know if it is the meat itself, how I prepare it, what I eat with it, or what, BUT I’ve felt kinda blah lately.

While in Austin, Gooner met her Pepère from Jamaica for the first time.

I have to be honest, it is difficult when families live in other countries! I was so excited for Gooner to meet her other Grandpa!

The first night we ate at a buffet. It was difficult. I didn’t over eat, and I didn’t really want to. I did have trouble finding things I COULD eat. Most food in the buffet lines are over processed and fatty. Thankfully I made good choices and experienced no gall bladder pain. Woot! The next day we had lunch at Texas Land and Cattle.

I’ve heard folks talk about “white queso” so we gave it a try as an appetizer. Um, it was good, but I’d rather have regular queso. Gooner thought the queso was nasty…I could tell by her face and the way she spit it out. πŸ˜‰ I ordered a grilled chicken sandwich thinking this would be a healthy option and something I could share with Gooner. Wrong. It was greasy. And it made me sick. Nope, I wasn’t in the bathroom, but I did want to curl up in a little ball until my stomach ache went away. When will I get it through my head that I CAN’T EAT FAT AND FEEL GOOD??? Gross. The upside is that Gooner though it was delish!

Q enjoyed seeing his Dad.

I have to tell you, we made quite a sight everywhere we went. Q’s Uncle and Aunt represented Ghana, even wearing ethnic garb. Then you have Dad and M representing Jamaica (pronounced Jamaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyca) and the three Americans. Seriously, we were a hoot to listen too. At the restaurant for example:

M: I can’t believe all this food. (said with the Jamaican accent.) I mean, if we were in Jamaaaaaaaaayca every one would take all the food home to their families. You can get 6 meals here!

Dad: Hahaha, you are right.

Uncle: (said deeply with a Ghanaian accent) I like soup from Ghana better. The rice is better there. Have you tried Ghanaian food?

Q: So Dad, what kind of fruit do you have in Jamaica?

M: We have at least ten different kind of Mangoes, my favorite is the black one.

Q: Black mangoes? We have two kinds here in the States.

Uncle: You call this soup?

Q: La, did you find something you can eat?

Aunt: (pediatrician) Wow, Gooner is advanced with a fork.

And so it goes in a multicultural family…


Categories: Travel | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Austin, TX

  1. LeAnna

    LOL! This cracked me up. “You call this soup?” πŸ˜‰ Are you sprouting your berries? http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/ has a lot of info on sprouting berries and grains, etc. Love the pics of all you guys!

  2. Clarissa

    Hahahaha! Soup. Don’t order soup at a steakhouse. πŸ™‚

  3. How funny! It sounds like you guys had a great time, minus the whole stomach pain!

    And do tell me how the wheat berry turns out!

  4. Haha, that’s funny! πŸ˜‰

    Man, it is difficult to eat healthy when out to eat. I’ve been going through the same struggles. For the most part, I have completely given up bread (other than once in a while), and it’s been very difficult.

  5. Sounds awesome. Like the conversation was uber fun!

  6. Hahaha, that sounds like a riot!! I’d love to hang out with your family for a day, seems like a blast!!!!

    I like to have cold wheat berrie salad, you can add some chopped kale and dried cherries or raisins, and maybe some mango or other veggies!!!

    When you get a chance, check out the post today, could use the feedback of a mommy, even though Gooner is too young to do the school lunch thing (right???) Still lovwe your 2 cents πŸ˜‰

  7. I would have loved to have been at the table next to you!!!
    Ellie is very advanced with a fork too and it sort of freaks me out sometimes. Both of my girls prefer using utensils as opposed to their fingers…even at young ages.

    So glad Gooner was able to meet more of her extended family!

  8. That sounds like such a great time. Must have been quite entertaining. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to hear how the wheatberries turn out!

  9. Haha, I love it! Glad you’re having a good family visit!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

