“Weird Food” ???

As I’ve mentioned before, Gooner does NOT eat regular kid food; instead she eats healthier options. She does NOT eat grilled cheese, peanut butter and jelly, and macaroni and cheese. She does not eat it because she does not like it. Thus far she has not grown up with it. I’ve tried macaroni and cheese twice, pb&j once, and grilled cheese yesterday. She refused to eat the Velveeta and instead ate the avocado, tomato and sprouts from inside the sandwich. And this was her today: Celery

I’ve been told that Gooner eats weird food, loosely translated into healthy foods because she doesn’t know any different. She doesn’t really like ice cream and prefers fruit. Q and I don’t eat ice cream – if we do, we choose sorbet or frozen yogurt – which means Gooner eats it…um never. At the same time sugar is not off limits, but her sweets are few and far between. I’m here to encourage you Mama’s in choosing foods that are healthy for your children. Today I was convicted that I haven’t been giving Gooner enough veggies since Q left – I myself have not been eating enough. My schedule and meal planning are all off! The workout today included a long walk after lunch and much play time!

*The reason Gooner is wearing fleece is because it was 55 degrees when we ate our breakfast outside! I love drinking coffee in the morning when it’s cold! I need to get some fallish creamer though!

Categories: Gooner, Wellness | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on ““Weird Food” ???

  1. Maggie loved celery at a very early age and until recently some of her favorite foods were broccoli, spinach and asparagus. Much to my dismay, both kids are on some sort of food jag where they aren’t eating a lot of meat or vegetables. I know that it’s a short-lived phase (as always) but it bothers me. I just keep putting veggies on their plates and soon they’ll eat them up.

  2. good for you! and way to go gooner!

  3. This is all so true! When I was a child, my parents made sure to only give us healthy options! Of course, when we got older and discovered our friends’ refrigerators, things changed a little;) But once experimenting with some pretty junky foods out there, we came back around to healthy eating again.

  4. Good for you! When I have children, I want to do the same thing! I’ve started eating more veggies and fruits here recently (read: this week) and so far so good!

  5. Isaac is the same way lol! He has a shock to the system whenever my MIL watches him because he is fed what they feed our 2 year old nephew who is only 6 months older than Isaac. Not only do they do fruit snacks, crackers and then dinner, but of course there is a desert with dinner! Yikes.

    Great job Mama!

  6. I think that is wonderful that she only likes “healthy” food! And not wierd at all! She takes after her Momma. I am loving the cooler weather too…I’m not big on pumpkin spice creamer, but I do love peppermint.

  7. Celery is a great snack!!!

  8. Crystal Malek

    Wow, glad I’m not the only one not eating enough! I spend so much energy making sure my babies get all their fruit and veggie servings, then realize I haven’t even consumed one! I’m trying to keep myself accountable in this area and make sure Momma is getting plenty good eats, too. πŸ™‚

  9. I LOOOOVE when I hear about little kids eating avocado. I am like, I WISH my mom fed ME avocado when I was a kid! Gooner is the coolest kid in the world…..loves it πŸ™‚ And you are an awesome mommy!

  10. LeAnna

    Yay, for a good eater! Now all she needs to add to her menu is MUSHROOMS!!!!! πŸ˜‰ Ahem. I’m enjoying the coffee (decaf boohoo) weather too. Been making mine with vanilla cream liquid stevia, hot cocoa and half and half. Pretty darn tasty!

  11. I so totally agree. We did really super good with this until these kids of mine developed minds of their own. My youngest eats pretty much any veggies very well, but I still have to shove veggies down my oldest’s throat, I’m hoping that there’s a glimmer of hope there though, because she is completely disgusted at the overweightness of a few different family members, so she’s sort of beginning to put two and two together, thank goodness. πŸ™‚

  12. This is great! How proud you must be. It is too easy to just whip up some mac-n-cheese and boxed stuff every now and then. Wish I had your devotion to nutrition always, not just sometimes. We are working on it though! My middle girl LOVES her veggies; in fact, she goes for those first at most meals. I definitely am interested in your occasional recipes and crave to have more time and energy to devote to some better meals.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

