SPINACH

Produce varies depending on where you are in the world. Use what you’ve got, and make it work. Do try to shop outside your comfort zone because you might find something amazing like this:A HUGE lovely bunch of organic spinach. And mind you, we’ve had MANY a store clerk comment on our organic produce. It isn’t uncommon to hear:

” I wish WE could go organic too, but we just can’t afford it.” – It’s true, sometimes you can’t. We couldn’t for awhile. BUT, now we can because we make sacrifices in other areas.

“Is this ACTUALLY organic?” – Sounds simple, but mix that with the cashiers look and tone, and what she was truly “saying” was “what a waste of money.”

But, when our Spinach compares to THIS, far left:

we will put up with a few comments. The middle piece of spinach is from a bunch of organic spinach from a moderate health food store. I’m not such a fan of baby spinach anymore. The spinach on the left is grown in Colorado, maybe the mountains help to grow crazy big and yummy spinach? I don’t know.

What is your best salad? I need some ideas. You all know my favorite…corn, black beans…

You ladies made me feel WONDERFUL! I really was in a funk the past two days…just ask my Mom. I was crappy, nasty, grumpy AND I didn’t even have PMS. Imagine if I had! No wait, don’t do that. Thank you friends for lifting me up!

Categories: Cuisine, Wellness | Tags: | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “SPINACH

  1. Spinach goes so well with dried cranberries, goat cheese, and pecans. (Extra points if the pecans are “candied,” although I’ve never tried that myself.)

    I also love marinating mushrooms in a mixture of brown mustard, Worchestershire sauce, garlic, and a little olive oil… sauteeing/grilling them… and slicing them over spinach with some shredded mozzarella cheese. You can use the leftover marinade as a dressing. Delish!!

    Hope you are hanging in there.

  2. Glad you are feeling better!!!! I hate seeing you were grumpy and in a bad mood…but we all get like that, we’re women 😉

    I am eating spinach as I type!!! Sauteed in garlic, yummmmmm

  3. I too don’t really care for baby spinach so much anymore. The regular spinach leaves are just so big and beautiful.

    I use spinach in a greek recipe called spanikopita. We love it. We also make a spinach salad with not the best ingredients – it is one of those bacon, red onion sort of things. But once in awhile it really hits the spot. 🙂

  4. LeAnna

    Oh yes, love the cranberry, feta/goat cheese, spinach combo! I’ve been eating my salads with nuts on it, too. Gooood stuff! I’ve even had spanikopeta before, too. It was delish!

  5. Wow! I love spinach.

    I love spinach, Trader Joe’s spicy nuts, dried cranberries, and asian dressing!

  6. i like a salad with spinach with pesto chicken, pine nuts, tomatoes, and feta!

    Yum!

    And everyone has the right to be in a funk! But I am glad you are feeling better!

  7. haha. i love the last sentence imagine if i was..wait nevermind dont 😉 you crack me up. i love spinach leaves with walnuts and cranberries. topped with white wine vinegar and olive oil and sometimes chicken and feta. thanks for asking now i have to go buy all those things to make it 😉

  8. Stacey

    The last time I got spinach I found a bunch of organic spinach…at least that’s what the tag said it was. Well, it didn’t look like it and I spent a bunch of time wondering, but then decided that spinach can look different. I got it home, washed and tore it (still double checking the tag and wondering…). After wilting it and preparing dinner we ate…at it was collard greens. This is okay if you like collards…we do not. There was no mistaking that this was not spinach. And I was disappointed. Moral of the story: YOU should send me your spinach! :0)

  9. Yummmmm…. spinach. Your’s is beautiful. I like my spinach in a salad two ways: with cherry tomatoes, sliced red pepper, and then either chicken breast, and cashews and homemade ranch dressing, or salmon, hazelnuts and homemade balsamic champagne vinegarette. Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper, croutons, parmesan, whatever else you fancy over the top, and wow, dinner is on.

  10. Clarissa

    Colorado spinach IS delicious! I think it’s because they let it mature instead of harvesting it when it’s just begun to grow. Also, it’s probably the smog from Denver. 😉
    I love salads based on Mediteranean flavors: feta, olives, onion, oregano, arugula, vinegar, hummus, etc…. Any combination sans tomatoes will do. My favorite salads in the summer are super-unhealthy wilts (bacon, onion, sugar, vinegar and lettuce or spinach), but I rarely eat them. They just remind me of being a kid. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

