“Meat balls”

  • 2 cups cooking brown rice
  • 1/2 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano leaves
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil

1. In large bowl, mix rice, oats, onion, bread crumbs, milk, basil, oregano, red pepper and egg. Shape into 12 balls. Roll balls in wheat germ.

2. In skillet , heat oil over low heat for about 15 minutes.

Don’t worry, I’m your first skeptic. Um, if you want meatballs, make a meatball, if you don’t eat meat….then why would you want a meatball? I don’t know. Seriously. But we are cutting down on meat, as you know, and I’m interested. So I made them, and let me tell you, it was a process! If Q didn’t like them so much I might not make them again.I thought they were OK, Q thought they were excellent and he liked them a lot. For someone watching their weight they were high in calories, but so are meatballs so you can’t compare THAT way. If you want to eat ten meatballs….remind yourself that you did that when you are 13 years old; it is in your past. Eating normal sized portions is something you learn, and I am LEARNING that 2 meatballs IS a serving where in the past I thought 5 meatballs was a serving… Go figure! But I’m making changes and THAT is what eating less meat is all about.

5 days of yoga have been completed and oh am I loving it! I honestly spend my days looking forward to it. I begin SO TIGHT and end so free and flexible! My sleep is improving as well!!! Yesterday I completed a “Yoga for Weight loss” and I didn’t like it as well, BUT I still enjoyed it.

Categories: Cuisine, Wellness | Tags: , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on ““Meat balls”

  1. The “meat” balls sound interesting. I have seen a lot of meatless meat ball recipes which IS strange.

  2. Hmmm…. Soak those in enough bbq sauce and they’d be amazing!! Haha, just kidding. I’m pretty intrigued, actually. πŸ™‚ So, usually I serve my meatballs with rice… if your meat balls ARE rice, what do you serve them with?! πŸ™‚ Can you tell I’m having fun with this? πŸ™‚

    What yoga program do you use?! I think I need to be doing this… I have always been very unflexible (inflexible?!) and I think it would really help with the tension headaches I’ve been having. And of course, help with strengthening and toning too, which I could definitely use.

    I’m LOVING my daily workout routine now tho, thank you so much for your encouragement and giving me the inspiration to do that. πŸ™‚ I’d literally forgotten how good it feels to be (more) fit. πŸ™‚

  3. I am glad yoga is going well!

  4. Clarissa

    So, I keep thinking falafel when I read your meat ball recipe, though they’re not really that similar. Anyway, um, I’d probably pass on these because the process of making them sounds involved in proportion to the enjoyment I would get from them at the end. Still, very intriguing. I would eat them if you made them for me. πŸ™‚

  5. Expat Girl

    Yayyyyyy we found each other again!

  6. Meatless meatballs are pretty much brilliant. This recipe looks quite delicious and super inventive! I love that yoga is still going so great!

  7. Those look & sound delicious, to be honest. I’m always looking for good meatless dinner ideas. Yay for 5 days of yoga, good for you!

  8. I have done Yoga for Weight Loss…I actually think I own it…Giam? Haven’t done it in a while though so I forget what it was like.I usually do On Demand–have a few good DVD’s I can’t do anymore, just the prenatal stuff now. Thats excellent how great you feel…it’s only going to get better!!!!

    The “meatballs” look pretty tasty, not sure if Michael would go for them though. I will have to try them for the next family gathering!

  9. Hmmm. Never seen those before!

    Yep, we’re all okay. I’m not sure what happened last night – I was out like a light (for once). Glad ya’ll are okay too!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

