The Knitting “Club”

I have spent about FIVE years working on a scarf.

Ok, that’s not actually true. I spent about a month – in the past five years – actually WORKING on this scarf. Sometimes I have BIG ambitions. So my friend rescued me. And get this, she is the FIRST friend who asked me to dinner withOUT Gooner.

Clarissa loves Gooner. She even knitted Gooner some Norwegian mittens.

But she wanted to just hang out with me. So my husband got to spend father-daughter time with Gooner. WHAT? I was to leave my cherub at home..for hours…and have a conversation with a woman!? My gut reaction was an identity crisis. I don’t drop Gooner off ANYWHERE without being by her side. It isn’t that I don’t trust other people, I just love being a Mom. Which means most everything is better WITH Gooner. Don’t get me wrong, this post is occurring during her morning nap accompanied by a mix of classical music. But I love life WITH her. I also now realize that I can’t sacrifice ALONE time. Q dropped me off at the library where I spent TWO luscious hours by myself. I read magazines. I stared out the window. I sat and did NOTHING but think. I was hit on by a guy, which cracked me up.

Once finished with the library, my friend joined me and we walked downtown Denver searching for a restaurant. Um, almost EVERYTHING was closed…it was 6 pm. I still don’t understand. But we made it. And we knitted.

And we tried to enjoy some bad tea, but we are tea snobs after living abroad. And I successfully convinced her to TRY running. Oh and here is a pic in colour because I LOVE my new periwinkle sweater.

And that, my friends, is how our monthly knitting night came to be. If you are in the area and want to knit, come on!

Categories: Friends | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “The Knitting “Club”

  1. I love knitting! Granted I haven’t done it in a long time, but I was all over it in college. I wish I lived closer to join in on the fun!

  2. I would SO be there in a heartbeat if it wasn’t so far away! I love to crochet – I have several blankets that need finishing! How cool!

  3. Oh, that sounds SO fun! I am so with you–I love being with my kids, so don’t really chose to do things without them. BUT–it is so good for me to do things without them, and even more than that, it’s really good for them to have quality time with their dad. Wish I was close enough to join you!

  4. I so wish I was in the area…not because of knitting, cause lets face it i cant even saw a button but because I would love to spend time with you. With Gooner and without. If only when we lived in the same city we didn’t work all the time and could have taken advantage of time together. love you. oh and decoration post to come soon. 😉

  5. I attempted to crochet a few years ago, but with the help of my aunt I’m about to start again!
    Glad you were okay without Gooner. I have always been with my kids A LOT, but it’s nice to get away for a few minutes every now and then.

    AND the sweater is so pretty!!

  6. funnn! i love that yarn in that first photo. sadly, all i know how to knit is a scarf, in one knitting pattern. i dont even know what pattern it is … i just picked up needles and taught myself how to stitch.

  7. M

    I’m proud of you!! You two look great!!!!!!

  8. Q can’t drop you off anywhere without getting hit on, huh….you hott lil’ mamma 😉

    Glad to hear you got some “big girl grown-up” time! My mom taught me how to crochet…she is amazing at it…I was decent, before I gave it up. She has been trying to knit since she was 9….she just can’t do it!!! Amazing at crochet though 😉

  9. Clarissa

    I had so much fun, friend! I’m so glad you enjoyed it, too. I love to knit and spend quality time with friends like you. PS, you do look fabulous in periwinkle.

  10. Seeing you two together gives me warm fuzzies about RSP. So much good came out of that program, and I still can’t believe they closed it. So very sad.

  11. LOVE the periwinkle! Looks like a good time!

  12. That sounds like a lovely evening! I wish I knew how to knit…it looks like so much fun. 🙂 My grandma taught me when I was little, but I have forgotten everything. Maybe someday!

  13. That sounds like so much fun!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

