Baking…Tis the Season!

Gooner REALLY wants to fit into her big girl soccer boots.

Baking here in Colorado has truly thrown me for a loop. Increasing liquid, decreasing baking soda, baking powder, and sugar. Decrease cook time and increase temperature…oh dear! I normally give out loaves of yummy bread to my neighbors…not this year! I DID manage to make some yummy wheat shortbread! Super tasty! I had to decrease the flour by a whole cup and increase the cook time by 20 minutes! I’ll get the hang of it soon!

I REALLY like this time of year:

I’ve really been enjoying my Hallmark/Lifetime Christmas movies. Gooner is now old enough to snuggle and watch movies. It is SO FUN! I hated putting her to bed tonight! I just wanted to hold, kiss, and watch the movie with her. She has her own “spot.”

Categories: Random | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Baking…Tis the Season!

  1. Oh my goodness! If I ever meet that little piece of preciousness in person you’d better watch out! I’m gonna leave little nibble marks on her cheeks:)) She is just too cute. It’s so great to stop by and see what you’ve been up to lady! I’m glad to know things are working out in your new home. And I am so impressed with the scarf you knitted – I’ve been wanting to LEARN how to knit for years now and haven’t gotten around to it.

  2. mrsleahmaria

    Love that picture of Gooner! Girl after my own heart. 🙂

    I can’t even imagine the baking situation! Nightmarish!

  3. Uh, yeah. Baking at high altitudes does NOT sound fun. Ugh.

    But that baby of yours is SO precious!!! Isn’t it great when they’re old enough to snuggle on the couch and have a conversation about whatever?! Love love love it.

    Merry Christmas!!!!!

  4. I can’t imagine all of the changes you have to make for baking-yuck! You WILL get the hang of it and everything will be yummy, I’m sure.
    Maggie loves cuddling under a blanket for Christmas movies and Ellie cuddles for a few minutes. She only has interest in cuddling and not in the movies!

  5. OMG!!!! Gooner is getting SO BIG!!!! Such a big girl!!! Oh, and her in her “own spot”–too presh!

  6. How sweet! Bella has that same cup 🙂

  7. Clarissa

    I’m glad she’s learned what coffee tables are really for. 😉
    I think you’re at a higher elevation than I am, which, I think, explains why you’re having baking issues that I seem to experience less acutely. That’s my only explanation because your food is DELICIOUS!

  8. M

    LOVE the pictures. Thanks.

  9. hahahaaha are those her little feeties up on the coffee table! super cute!

  10. She is so dang sweet!!

    Yes, I got the book sometime last week or maybe early this week?? I started reading and plan to read most of it before I get started. Plus I need to join a gym still so I can run indoors when it’s frosty outside. I can’t wait! Thanks for the suggestion.

  11. I can’t imagine trying to bake at a high altitude–I have enough trouble in my everyday life. 🙂 I am so glad I found your blog–your family is so beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

