Deuxième Partie – Beth Moore

While living in Texas Beth Moore plagued me AGAIN. She wrote the book So Long Insecurity and it took women by storm! Women constantly, well, WE compare ourselves. It’s what we do. We either read the blog and say, “I can NEVER look like that” or we say “if I just try to eat better and add some cardio  I CAN look like that.” It’s what we do. And truthfully it goes to the latter more often than the former. This is why I changed the page “health blogs” to “healthy inspiration.” OK; back to Texas. I mentioned to a friend that I was interested in the whole So Long Insecurity and pretty soon a ticket was in the mail. I was so conflicted. I wanted to go….but I didn’t. AND, I don’t DO large groups of women. I don’t. There is a lot of hair, makeup, and perfume. A lot of back stabbing, men and husband hating all in the name of…something. Anyway, they aren’t ALL like that, but to me a “harmless” joke about all husbands being jerks and somehow I feel offended that you are insulting my husband. He’s a great guy. He’s not perfect and boy am I glad! Also, my clothing and hair style – and well everything – is unique. I RARELY fit right in. I’m not warm and fuzzy; I laugh and have fun; oh and I speak my mind. So when everybody is CRYING, I’m sitting to the side wondering what the problem is. Normally there is another woman like me and we become co-conspirators and have loads of fun, in our own way. But still, with the crying and the hair, I’d rather not risk it. So, I threw the ticket in the trash. I was confident in my decision. Beth Moore need not plague me!

AND we moved to Denver. It’s cold and wonderful here. With the new year came thoughts of new Bible Studies and what I wanted to accomplish with Christ this year. (Please note this is about what I want…) and then someone leaves a comment on this here blog. So I hop on over to her blog and get this….SHE DID A POST ON BETH MOORE!!! I felt slightly defeated; what is this cultish following to a woman so deeply entrenched in Evangelical Christianity? And I left a comment saying that I too need to memorize more scripture because well, I haven’t. Lately I’ve been doing a lot of…well it’s somewhere in this here Bible… Apologetics? Hmmmmmm, it’s somewhere here. And so I went to Beth Moore’s blog and over 8,000 women have made the commitment to memorize 2 scripture verses a a month, for all of 2011.

And if you scroll through, I’m in there.

So, I’m taking the plunge. Normally I don’t talk about my faith on the blog because honestly, that’s not why I blog. I blog to encourage, inspire, and share stories and pictures so that friends and family far away can “keep up” with us. This year I encourage you to be the very best you can be.

I believe that EVERYONE has value.  But I love to workout and it’s HEALTHY. And though I no longer expect my friends to begin running or workout an hour a day like me, I DO encourage them to be healthy. AND of course I encourage them to run because when you like something SO MUCH you can’t help sharing… Especially with those closest to you. When I look at the past, I am encouraged about where I am today. Q is working on a post, so tune in Monday!

Categories: Uncategorized | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Deuxième Partie – Beth Moore

  1. I appreciate this post. I actually don’t do Beth Moore, but it is for some personal reasons related to a seriously awful women’s Bible study experience. Not really Beth Moore’s fault, but the connotations have plagued me.

    I wanted to mention, though, that I seriously appreciate what you said about husbands. It drives me absolutely bonkers when other women stab their husbands in the back and talk horribly about them….but then get mad when they find out their husband has been talking about them. So frustrating! I also don’t understand the crying thing. At all. I mean, sure, I cry sometimes…but usually not about what everyone else is crying about.

    And also – I never fit in. Ever. So I completely get that. Completely.

  2. Good post! I feel like I know you so much better now. 🙂 Good luck with the bible verse memorization. Keep us posted on how it’s going.

  3. The Bible verse memorization sounds like such a wonderful goal! Good luck with it!

    And thanks for sharing this deeper insight into what drives you – I loved to read it!

  4. I actually love Beth Moore! And I just found out about the 2 verses a month idea and decided to join in too (though not on her blog, just on my own). I think it’s a wonderful thing to do to help keep your mind focussed on what’s important.
    And I also can’t stand it when women talk bad about their husbands. I wish we could all be a little more encouraging….

  5. I’ve learned more Bible verses since I started teaching and Maggie started attending Awana than ever before. I also know more about the “characters” in the Bible since we have been reading “The Jesus Storybook Bible” each night for nearly two years. I’ve never participated in a Beth Moore study, but I have been interested in them.

  6. A post by Q!?? How exciting!! Maybe I need to get Michael guest posting for me soon 😉

  7. Good post! I actually finished Beth Moore’s “So Long, Insecurity” yesterday. Although I’m not “cured” of my insecurities, it gave me fresh insight…Biblical insight into the fact that I have strength and dignity through Christ. I love that. And I needed a reminder. Best wishes on memorizing lots of Scripture in 2011! Verse I love: Psalm 119:11

  8. Jess

    Happy New Year! I hear you with the husband bashing bit. There are way too many women who do that! WHY?! My husband’s flaw is that he chose a wife who tends to get stressed, tired and crabby, and for that I feel terrible!

    I like that your posts come from the heart and speak truth and honesty!

  9. AHHH! Wow. You have no idea how much I loved that first paragraph…I don’t do large groups of women. Seriously! Going to “girls night out” with a large group terrifies the patootie out of me. I HATE HATE gossip, and I fee like I never fit in…I’m just not your average girl, plus I’m not emotional… Ahem. All this to say I enjoy being in the company of a few women who are willing to encourage each other. I always thought I was weird like that. 😉

    That’s really awesome about the scripture memorization! I need to check out your health inspiration page…and have you ever done a post on running for beginners?

  10. Clarissa

    Large groups of (Christian) women leave me feeling inadequate and confused about what I’m “supposed” to do and who I’m “supposed” to be. So in the interest of mental health, I stay away. We’ve discussed this. Also, thanks for still being by friend despite my many failings in living up to your standard of living. 😉

  11. Thanks for the honest post! I have been so lucky to find a group where I really fit in for my Beth Moore studies, but I also LEAD a couple of studies where I really don’t feel like I fit in. I wonder if a lot of this is because of our own insecurities about what people think we should be? I’m also with you on the husband bashing. I would be devastated to find out Rob was talking bad about me. And, so many are so quick to blame others for their problems. Rob is not the source of any of my problems (well besides laundry! haha). 🙂 Thanks again for the honesty.

  12. I like that Beth Moore link. I especially liked this statement. “We’ll know we’ve been a place of divine intervention if we’re a respite from the female competition and clatter out there. Only Jesus can give us that kind of relief in this exhausting culture.”

  13. Q better bring it…No pressure. : )

  14. I don’t slam my man behind his back either…

  15. Great committment for 2011. I just found your blog and loved reading this post and finding out more about you 🙂 Love your comments about healthy inspiration!! I just added a comment to a friend on my http://facebook.com/FITori page today about women who shy away from “fit” girls rather than getting to know them and embracing how they live healthfully! Nice to “meet” you!

  16. I love your posts. I’m really excited to see how Beth Moore works out for you. I might take the plunge and read one of her books, you’ll have to let me know what you think as you do it. 🙂 I love your healthy inspiration–I can guarantee that I would fall short of your healthfulness… that being said, you encourage me to be healthier, and I appreciate it very much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

