Why do we do it? (authored by Q)

Why do we run despite the fact it’s 13 degrees outside? Why do I get up at 4Am to go workout?  Why have La and I been working out on a consistent basis for 10 years now? It all comes down to 4 principles that are the foundations to our family’s routine.

I. We work out and live a healthy lifestyle because our bodies are the temple of God.  We are both strong believers in the verse from 1 Corinthians 6:19: “Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own..”. The following quote by Jerry Bridges captures our modern society’s illness “Modern Christians, especially those in the Western World, have generally been found wanting in the area of holiness of body. Gluttony and laziness, for example, were regarded by earlier Christians as sin. Today we may look on these are weaknesses of the will but certainly not sin. We even joke about our overeating and other indulgences…” We don’t want to be part of the problem. We want to be part of the solution and share the joy that comes with living a healthy lifestyle.

II. We work out so that we can both enjoy each others bodies. I do not work out so that I can show off my 8 pack abs; La doesn’t work out so that she can be ready for swimsuit season. We definitely do not workout because it’s the new year and it’s time for us to shed the weight we gained during the winter. No, we workout and eat right for the pleasure of the other.

III. We work out for posterity sake. I was blessed to be reared in a family where a good regimen and an active lifestyle was the norm. In my family, while my brothers and I were playing soccer for our respective teams, my little sister was off dancing, my mother was doing aerobics at home or swimming while my father was out playing tennis with his friends. La and I strongly believe that “a good man leaves an inheritance to his children’s children” Proverbs 13:22. Yes, we want to leave an inheritance of wealth for our children and their offspring, but we also want to leave them with a strong spiritual, mental, emotional, and physical capital that would provide them with a great foundation to be successful in life.

IV. We work out because it’s a life long journey we vowed to take together before we got married. The following quote “exercise is a journey, not a destination” sums up one of our many mottoes. We want to be that old couple that everyone stares at in amazement when they go past them on a difficult mountain trail. It’s not about how one looks in 3 months or 4 years. It’s a lifelong journey that has already started for us.

Why do you workout? Is it because it’s the new year and it’s the thing to do? Is it because you feel the need to lose weight? Is it because you want to look good and turn heads when you walk around? Is it because Shape and Men’s Health magazines tells us what one should look like? If those and/or similar responses are your answers, please know that those reasons will not carry you. Yes, you may lose weight or you may bulk up and get ripped. But one cannot sustain a healthy lifelong workout journey on those reasons.  It’s time to re-evaluate your drive and adopt a different and more substantial mindset…

So why do you or don’t you workout?

Categories: Marriage, Wellness | Tags: | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Why do we do it? (authored by Q)

  1. Amen!! Very well said.

  2. Amen! I am in total agreement with everything about this post. Love it. My husband (and I, to a lesser extent) grew up in a home where being fit was not a priority, so it’s been a longer and less inate process for us to get to the point of agreement with you. However, we are working at it, and I’m so thankful for that.

    • Naomi,

      It’s harder for those growing up in a home where fitness is not a priority so I respect them when they make a deliberate decision to live a healthy lifestyle.

      Q

  3. 🙂 I want to turn heads, fit in my old jeans and get rid of baby weight!!! Don’t HATE me!

    I also want to be healthy for myself and my family…I want them to have good eating habits and exercise habits because it’s a part of our life. I don’t want to be a glutton and be addicted to food – I want food for fuel…And have the ability to put down my fork…I don’t want food or laziness to consume me.

    I want my pre-baby body back! And aside from a c-section scar, I WILL get it 🙂

    All of it Lord willing of course.
    Great post!

  4. Joao Monge

    Great post hermaninho

    Joao

  5. I tried to post a comment on the cayenne pepper post but it wouldn’t let me so I’m going to try to post here! I really am so impressed at how brave you are to try it! I have had several friends who do this and also a friend who eats garlic to feel better. I’m not that brave, but if I start to feel sick I might have to try it!!

    Now onto this post’s comment! I agree so much with what you have written, Q! I am working out right now to lose some weight, but it is because I haven’t treated my body like a temple. I don’t want to stop working out once I am at my idea weight/body shape. Something that I have recently started to notice and realize is that when you are doing a workout you enjoy it REALLY can be fun! I have tried running a million billion times and I just cannot have fun running. However, I’ve recently gotten into some aerobic videos and have a great time working out!! I love the Biblical basis you have provided for taking care of your body–so nice! 🙂

  6. Great post.
    I workout for a healthy heart, to be a role model for my son, I enjoy doing it. And of course to fit into my jeans and buy smaller sizes and for bikini seasons but those are just the perks. I’ve been working out since forever…enrolled in swim lessons at 6mos and been active ever sense. So being active has been engrained into my life and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  7. Lovely words you speak (type), Q!! 🙂

  8. Adie

    Honestly I plan workouts with the intent of loosing weight but the only thing that actually gets me to the gym is the memory of feeling great after a workout, mentally and physically. And just that feeling of strength when completing a tough workout. So I would say your statements are true. Thanks for another great post Q.

  9. I workout simply because a) I LOVE to run and have been doing so since I was 13 b) because my mom and dad had very healthy and fit lifestyles..I like to carry that on c) I am addicted to how relaxed it makes me feel d) that’s often when I can really think or pray. Cora sits in the jogger and is happy…I can reflect on whatever I want to without being disturbed

  10. so inspiring!

  11. I work out so i can look so hot…bahahaha just kidding. i work out to feel better about myself. it really does make you feel good. but i am not as on top of working out as i should be. i do want it to be a legacy with our children so they know there is more to life then sitting in front of the tv and eating chips. I want them to know you can go outside and play tennis and its not just a game on the wii. Great post Q!

  12. Wow – what a moving and inspiring post, Q! You and your wife are doing it right!

  13. Those are very good reasons to exercise!

    I workout regularly as a natural treatment for my Fibromyalgia pain. 🙂

  14. Wow! I think I need to bookmark this post, and refer to it when I get discouraged. Since January of last year, I’ve been taken steps to live a healthier lifestyle on all respects. My first reason, is because I do believe my body is the temple of the holy spirit, I want to be a good steward of what God has given me, and last but not least, for the pleasure of my husband.

    Just love yall’s posts, in case you haven’t noticed!

  15. I work out because I wanna loose weight, look hot for my husband & create an active lifestyle for my children to grow up in. Plus, Andy is into working out and I don’t want him to get hotter than me. That would be devestating. I also work out so I don’t feel so bad about the days when I put Oreos in a bowl, pour milk on top and eat them with a spoon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

