Une Confession D’amour (authored by Q)

I stumbled upon this excerpt by one of my favorite authors:

“The husband/wife relationship is the oldest and most pre-eminent of all human relationships. It predates and goes ahead of any other relationship, including parent/child, mother/daughter, father/son, and sister/brother. No relationship should be closer, more personal, and more intimate than that which exists between a husband and wife.Β  Such intimacy involves not only love, but also knowledge. A husband and wife should know each other better than they know anyone else in the world. They should know each other’s likes and dislikes, their quirks and pet peeves, their strengths and weaknesses, their good and bad qualities, their gifts and talents, their prejudices and blind spots, their grace and their character flaws. In short, a husband and wife should know everything about each other, even those undesirable traits that they hide from everyone else.”

I utterly agree with this statement. I, on this Valentine’s Day, I am blessed to have La as my wife and the love of my life. Not only do we have so much in common – we are both athletes, like eating healthy and spicy foods, we have the same musical tastes, we both hold the same Biblical and political views etc… – but we share the same ideals such as putting each other first especially before other family members.

La, thank you for saying yes when I proposed to you. Thank you for looking beyond my stoic demeanor and for loving me the way I am. Thank you for knowing me like no other person has or ever will. Thank you for allowing me to be your knight in shining armour everyday. Thank you for supporting my every endeavors and encouraging me to pursue my gifts and talents.

Every moment spent with you is a moment I treasure.

La, voici ma confession d’amour: sache que je t’aimerai toujours ma belle!

Categories: Marriage | Tags: | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Une Confession D’amour (authored by Q)

  1. Awe, babe, you are the BEST husband EVER and I love you! Thanks for this wonderful surprise of your wonderfully special words! And my silliness complements your stoicness!

  2. How sweet!! You can tell you two REALLY love each other πŸ™‚

  3. so sweet!! happy valentine’s day! πŸ™‚

  4. Precious. I LOVE seeing other people who are very much in LOVE….

  5. oh so special! Beautiful post. Glad you said yes! hehe.
    have a great run today.
    πŸ™‚

  6. I love love πŸ™‚

  7. Sob! You guys are so sweet! What a lovely tribute to your wife, Q!

    Hope you enjoy a wonderful Valentine’s Day together.

  8. That is the sweetest thing ever! I love that quote and it’s so interesting to realize that the husband and wife relationship was the first. I never thought about it that way before. Thank you for that!

  9. Hannah

    I am so happy that you have this understanding together with the love of your life, and blessed to have it with mine. I have found this utmost of human commitments to have brought me not only joy, but a greater knowledge of God.

  10. What a great post. I really always enjoy reading your blog. I have hit a milestone on mine and want to say Thank You for helping me get there by taking the time and leaving such a nice comment on my blog. Thanks Again!

  11. What an amazing Valentines Day post, Q! This was just what i needed to read at the end of this day. SO sweet. I love that quote!

    Happy Valentine’s Day to the cutest little family ever πŸ™‚

  12. This is so sweet! You are a very blessed couple. πŸ™‚

  13. πŸ™‚ The journey is such a lovely one when you have someone you can wholly trust with your heart throughout. So glad God has blessed you with each other… may He be glorified. πŸ™‚

  14. Jess

    You definitely have a keeper, La! How sweet of Q πŸ™‚ Hope you had a lovely Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

