Potty Training Is…

interesting.

And that basically sums it up. I don’t know WHAT I thought it would be, but it isn’t. I thought as a mother I would KNOW what to do. And EVERY Mom does it differently…which was a huge bummer because I want to know EXACTLY what to do. There are no set rules and really no way to know how your child is going to react in this situation.YET you still meet Moms that tell you their way is the only way. We tried that way and it caused a CRAZY amount of fear in Gooner towards the potty. Great. So much fear, that we had to abandon that potty for the time being and get a new one. And wait a few more weeks.

And I know that everyone tells you to just DO what you KNOW to do because YOU know YOUR kid best. Ha, YAH, but I don’t know about THIS! Is your kid ready, is she not? Boy, it about made me crazy. So here we are in Texas, buying big girl panties, without ANY potty chair and making it work. My Mom’s advice has been the best so far. She told me what she did. Told me what I could do. And then she let me do it. And shoot we put those panties on and she seemed to know what was going on. (I’m open for tips! and advice!)

To change the subject completely; we have Internet again! For two days we had no blogs, facebook, email… And I don’t pay to have that stuff on my phone…  Anyway, there’s a lot to catch up on! And I missed you guys!

Categories: Gooner, Parenting | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Potty Training Is…

  1. You’re so funny! Potty training is definitely interesting and very different for every child and every mother. I tried training Maggie when I thought she was ready and I quickly KNEW that she wasn’t. I waited about three weeks and tried again and it was a whole different situation and a huge success. I always thought I’d be happy as long as Maggie was trained by age three and of course, she was much earlier than that and it was SO easy! With Ellie I am going with the flow and she potties when she wants to. I’m not pushing the issue or putting much effort into it yet. I’ll get serious when it’s warm and she can run around in her big girl panties and nothing else.

  2. Oh, potty training. I really think they are ready when they are ready…and if you push them before they are ready, it does instill fear.

    S was 26 months. I have a short PDF that we used (that worked wonders for her – 2 days) if you are interested. Email me.

  3. I wish I had the answers. Martin was a few days shy of 3 1/2 when he was trained, but for whatever reason he rarely has accidents and is dry all night. You do have to follow your kid. Martin didn’t want to and we just kept asking but not pressuring. He had a few accidents at first, but I think that’s actually a big part of the learning process. Good luck!

  4. I’ve thought about taking a few days off from the internet. I’m really contemplating it.

    Oh, and I hardly ever get anything with Splenda in it anymore. I drink mostly water every day. Those were just my splurges. And honestly, I’m gonna die of something one day and I figure Splenda is the least of my problems, Ha! Heck, I could get hit by a truck (or tornado) tomorrow!

    No, but seriously though. I stay away from artificial sweetner except when it comes to Starbucks and some Diet Mtn Dew. Those are my splurges.

  5. Oh my gosh… This sounds so difficult and confusing! I wish you both good luck!

  6. Girl, I would probably end up freaking my kid out!! My parents didn’t push me and let me kind of come to it on my own… hence being 3 1/2 before I potty trained!

  7. Aw. Potty Training was SO challenging to me too. I hated it. But, I would say to definitely listen to your mom. Clearly she knows what works, as you aren’t still in diapers, right? That was my logic anyway, and I mostly followed my mom’s advice. Ha!

    I would say to take it slow and easy. That was the one thing I did do with my girls, I followed my mom’s guidance, but I wasn’t quite so militant about it, and it made it way less stressful. They grow up so fast, if you can afford to use diapers for a bit longer, then be easy on her. I found that when I was easier on them, and moved slower about it, it worked way better than when I was more strict and hard on them… sort of eased them into it.

  8. OY! I’m sure it’s difficult. I’m not quite there yet, but have plans to have Avalon potty trained this spring/summer, for sure by the time #2 arrives. Best of luck to you guys!

  9. I can’t imagine how hard it would be to potty train! My mom said giving me fancy underwear worked really well so hopefully you’ll have good luck with it too!! 🙂

  10. Potty training about did me in. Completely. But you can do it!! 🙂 Preston was 3 1/2 by the time he was totally trained…going by himself, etc. It just took a long time. And I let myself get very frustrated, with accidents…etc. I do not want to be that person again this time around. I want to be more easy-going and not let it stress me out. Also, when well-meaning people question you if your kid is toilet-trained yet or not…it’s so easy to let that get to you. It did me…Basically, yes-each kid is different. And each successful potty-training story is a victory to be celebrated! 🙂

  11. I’m scared of potty training. SCARED. I guess the thought of having one more thing to deal with all day is almost too overwhelming. Hunter is not ready (at least I dont think so… He wakes up with a massively wet diaper each morning and only realizes he poops sometimes) so I’m just waiting. And he did just turn 2. Gooner is even younger – I’ve heard girls are better about it. It sounds like she’s doing pretty well!

  12. Love reading about this stuff. I know what I am in for!!!! I hear girls are MUCH better than boys with potty training…good luck 🙂

  13. My sister in law just vented to me about it … hard work!!!

  14. Clarissa Trapp

    La, I miss you! I’m glad some potty training advice is working for you two. I hope that area of your life continues to improve. Say hi to the Texas clan for me.

  15. Looks I have a lot to look forward too when it comes to little kiddos, hahaha! 😉

    Glad you got internet back. But sometimes it’s nice to go without it…

  16. Um yep not looking forward to those days! Hang in there girl you are an awesome mom and can totally do this potty training thing!

  17. Keep us posted on how it goes! I know you will figure it out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

