So Why Don’t You Do It? (authored by Q)

When asked why one does not workout, people come up with all sorts of excuses. Yes. I said it. Excuses. Some range from the nonsensical to the very self righteous. The ones that I hear most of the time is “I am too busy” or “I have too much on my plate”.

Well, let’s take a look at those two excuses, shall we?

When I was working out in high school, someone came up to me saying, once you get into college you’ll be too busy to be working out like you do.

Then I made it to college. Mind you, I was playing soccer for a division 1 NCAA school team, I had a full course load, I graduated Summa Cum Laude, and I was still working out on a regular basis. Still another person approached me saying, once you get into graduate school, you’ll be too busy to be working out like you do.

Then came grad school. I was accepted into one of the top 15 schools in the world in my field of study. I graduated with high honors all the while managing to still workout on a regular basis. Once again, someone else came up to me saying, once you get out into the ‘real world’ you’ll be too busy to be working out like you do.

And then I got my first real job working in politics. Not only did I enjoy it – and I still do to this day – but I also got the opportunity to travel around the country…and I still worked out on a regular basis. Yet another person approached me and told me that once I got married, I wouldn’t have time to workout like I did.

Then I met my lovely wife and we got married. Interestingly enough,  a recent survey said that 56% of couples said they gained weight after they got married. It’s not too uncommon for single people to work out regularly and as soon as they get married, the espouse the following pandemic mindset: why bother working out and staying fit when I have already snagged my man/woman? The irony of it is getting married didn’t stop La and I from getting into the best shape of our lives. In fact it galvanized us since we both share the same fitness and healthy lifestyle. Still another person came up to me telling me that once I had a kid, everything would change and I wouldn’t have time to workout like I do.

So Gooner came into this world – and she is truly a blessing – and yet I still work out regularly. Still that didn’t stop someone else from coming up to me telling me that once I had more kids, got a house, blah, blah blah…. I wouldn’t have time to work out.

Now do you see a trend here? I did and I then began to ask myself why is it that so many random people are eager to tell you what you can or cannot do. Why is it that we have people ready to criticize you for making a noble endeavor to live a healthy lifestyle and jump on you as if you were committing a crime?

Can one be so busy that one cannot have enough time to workout? Consider this: my father, a diplomat and parent of 5 children, has been exercising on a regular basis since I can remember. I am not trying to brag about him or me, I am just giving you an example of someone who would legitimately be excused from working out.

What is that you say? Working out takes too much time? I say if you can spare 3 hours a day watching TV, I know you can manage to spare 3 hours a week working out. It’s not a time factor; it’s a factor of one’s resolve and priorities.

So why don’t you workout and live a healthy lifestyle? Mind you ‘working out’ is a term I am loosely using to mean intentionally living an active lifestyle. Although La and I incorporate weight lifting into our workout routines, one doesn’t need to go to a gym to workout. A stay-at-home mother with a new born can get a workout by taking long walks 3 or 4 times a week pushing her baby in a stroller. Others who work can make it a point to take the stairs instead of using the elevators.

If you are trying to make a change, remember never to get discouraged. You will have critics at every corner of your journey but stay focused by remembering why you are doing it. Ultimately you – and not them – will reap the benefits of being faithful to living a healthy lifestyle.

And here’s a quote by President Theodore Roosevelt to inspire you: “It’s not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or when the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions and spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement; and who at the worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory or defeat.”

Categories: Marriage, Quotes, Wellness | Tags: | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “So Why Don’t You Do It? (authored by Q)

  1. AGREE!! AGREE!! AGREE!! I manage a workout facility for women and if I had a penny for every time I heard “I’m too busy, it’s not fitting into my routine, I’m too tired after work, I’m sore (yep you read that right soreness was an excuse)” I would be RICH and not have to work! I am a mother, wife, manager, grocery shopper, bill payer, dog care taker, house cleaning lady, and I still workout 9x a week. It’s a priority in my life an always will be!

  2. Yes, people need to make the time to workout. I understand all of our lives are busy but there is always time to workout. You just need to make it a priority!!!Good post, Q!!!

  3. I find that really do have 1 million excuses for not exercising, but can find time for tv shows, and reading pointless books. Incorporating exercise was difficult at first, but now, I honestly love it. Recently, Josh and I have started finding ways to workout together which is a HUGE confident boost to me!! 🙂

  4. My excuse has been having children, because before that I had been running and exercising regularly. What a sad excuse and my poor babies…both pregnancies probably suffered because I “ate for two and exercised for none!” And then my excuse was two consecutive c-sections…Agh.

    Back in the swings of things though and still shedding pounds – And I like the fact too, that I’m not as jiggly…eating healthy doesn’t do anything for the jiggle factor! Gots to exercise!

    Good post!

  5. Great post! I love the obvious fact that you learned healthy habits from your parents. This speaks very strongly to me, as it should to all of us, that our children watch and learn from us, especially in forming good or bad life habits.

    My husband grew up in a sedintary family that had their kids in sports, but not taught healthy living beyond that, I grew up in a family that was very active doing things like hiking and whatnot on the weekends and healthy eating, but not really day by day exercise, train your body, train your mind type of examples. So for us it’s been a deliberate choice to choose a lifestyle of activity and training, and I’ll admit it’s been a huge challenge sometimes, and other times we’ve nailed it.

    You guys are a huge encouragement to me, and I thank you for that. 🙂

    (P.S.–LA!!! You silly mushroom hater you… hee hee. Just thought I’d tell you that if you like the overall look of the chicken cacciatore dish I made, some versions of the recipe I found called for sliced carrots instead of mushrooms. Just thought I’d share that in case you wanted to try it that way.)

  6. Very well said. I’m inspired!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

