Yum – Bananas

Gooner is helping me pull bananas out of the dehydrator.

Please note the potty chair in the corner of the living room.

Yummy! A MUCH cheaper way to make dried fruit! Q even said they are BETTER than the store purchased ones.

To Dehydrate Bananas or Other Fruit:

1. Slice bananas to desired thickness – the thicker the chewier.

2. Depending on the humidity of your state, your run time will vary. Plug in your dehydrator and let ‘er run! These bananas took about three days (I think) due to Texas humidity!

Q is posting on Monday!

Categories: Cuisine | Tags: | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Yum – Bananas

  1. Clarissa

    I love dried bananas! Yum.

  2. I tried this once years ago and they came out all shriveled and leathery, not crunchy like the ones from the store. I was really bummed. I don’t know where I went wrong. 😦

  3. Yum! I do apples… I’ve never done bananas before. I’ll have to try that. I want to do a bunch of different kinds of fruit this summer. I’m especially thinking of doing fruit leather. Can’t wait for fresh fruit!!

  4. We LOVE our dehydrator!! Around the holidays Ryan always make A-mazing beef jerky with ours. I’ve never used it for drying out fruit but I want to now! Have you tried drying anything else?

  5. Ooooh a dehydrator! I have always wanted one of those. But I fear I wouldn’t use it as much as I think I would.

    BTW – I love to grocery shop too. But we have had NO TIME for so long. Sad!!

  6. Glad that I’m not the only one with a potty chair in the living room!!!

  7. I’ve been thinking more and more about getting a dehydrator lately. What else do you make with yours? Banana chips sound so good right now!

  8. Errign

    I love my dehydrator, though I rarely use it. I can’t do bananas though, the smell of them dehydrating makes me think of them ripening and I get grossed out. 🙂 My favorites are strawberries and pineappe! My mom used to make us “fruit roll ups” using applesauce and the sheets with the holes!

  9. Those look tasty!

  10. M

    Just an FYI we did need to spray the tray lightly with cooking spray to keep the banana slices from sticking.

    We put the dehydrator outside when we don’t want the smell in the house.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

