Grain-Free?

I received an email from a baking website that started like this?

“Who doesn’t like chocolate cake, especially one that’s gluten free, grain free, and all kinds of good?”

Really? Who?

ME!!!!! That’s who. If I’m going to eat chocolate cake, I want it to have grains in it. I want it to be WORTH the calories. If you NEED a gluten free diet, then I HOPE that this cake is SUPER yummy for you. I, on the other hand, don’t understand this gluten free trend by folks who do NOT need a gluten free diet.

If I WERE to go gluten free as a weight management tool, chocolate cake would be a WHITE flour splurge item. I WOULD make the cake if invited to a gluten free home, but not as a special dessert for my family. WHO wants to try the recipe????

Grain Free Chocolate Cake with Honeyed Ricotta

I like Amy’s blog, BUT eh, I’m not feeling the gluten free lifestyle, but what say you?

Categories: Cuisine | Tags: | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Grain-Free?

  1. Jamie G

    Hello long-lost French friend! I love reading your blog and almost spit my tea out with laughter when I read this post. I had to go gluten-free earlier this year as I try to accomodate my particularly finicky tummy, and for the life of me have no idea why people would do it that don’t have to – so I totally echo your feelings, albiet from a slightly different point of view. I get annoyed when people think GF automatically means “healthy” or “light” or has fewer calories – it’s just different…easier on ceiliac and sensitive systems, but doesn’t address nutrition or portion size-problems. I do think the blogger you quote was overly eager to think EVERYONE would like gluten-free, grain-free…as you said – for those that need it, it’s wonderful; for everyone else, it’s a very complicated way of making a chocolate cake!

    • Hey friend!!!! I had no idea you had tummy issues! I miss you lots and lots! It does look like a complicated recipe that I would SURELY try and make for you if you wanted me to. I will if it will get you to come visit… πŸ˜‰

  2. Amy? If you’re talking about the author of “Chapters”, she’s not doing it for weight management and she explained that on her blog today. Of course, I know many people jump on to the fad trains quickly when has to do with dieting and trying to look better. Can’t say that I blame people for trying – who doesn’t want to drop a few pounds or look better in their own skin? More power to them. But, I don’t think going GF will do that just because it’s GF. I do think some people might drop a few pounds because it teaches them to pay attention to what they’re eating, though. As for me – I’m not strict enough with my food to actually do that nor do I want to try it.

    • Nope, Amy, the baker for the recipe shown. I think Amy from Chapters does it for her husband, but I haven’t read her blog today.

  3. You know I am going to eat my chocolate cake with white flour and all the other gluten-full things πŸ™‚ Why on EARTH would I waste calories??? I am 100% with you friend. and this is why i run now. so i can eat what i want and not feel *as* guilty. now i really really really want to have you over and eat our fill of delicious chocolate cake.

  4. I want my chocolate cake with flour, butter, sucrose, gluten, salt. Of course, flourless chocolate cake is super-good, but oh, so fatty. I guess more butter. I don’t understand why someone would go gluten-free unless they have to, but OTOH, it was the only way one friend of mine could diet. He can’t do anything in moderation, and couldn’t maintain the carb-free lifestyle, so at least if he does gluten free, he doesn’t eat pizza and bread, the bulk of his diet. Not for me, no way. I prefer to eat less.

    • I’m a calorie counter for the most part and I found that gluten free desserts were SUPER high as well! I also think gluten free is more expensive so I would only do it if I HAVE to, which sounds like your friend does! Props to him for figuring something out instead of being a slave to food though!

  5. Thanks for sharing this.

    I recently gave in at a wedding to the posh-looking chocolate cake. It had a majestic texture and was consistent throughout and nice to eat. Not to mention the fact that nearly 4 hours afterwards I was thinking I would need the hospital and could hardly walk due to severe joint pain. Sick for 2 weeks afterward (I’m coeliac)

    I found a mix from sun flour mills that I plan to order and try soon – their award winning chocolate cake mix. They’re based in Idaho in the USA and the product won first prize in two independent competitions.

    The Almost Bourdain blog recently featured a flourless chinese five spice cake recipe which really looked perfect in terms of texture – extremely cake for being flourless and looked fairly easy to make – just need to find the time…

    Meanwhile, on the other hand, I recently found a potential cure for those with gluten intolerance and celiac disease – Dr. Wise’s Gluten Relief – I blogged about it at http://wp.me/p1244N-6k

    Thanks for this post! I’d love to hear of anything interesting you discover on this matter too! πŸ™‚

    • It must be TERRIBLE to be sick for two weeks! Ahhhhhhhhhh. Honestly I’m glad there are so many products out there. My daughter gets an upset tummy, among other ailments, when she has too much gluten and I had to dive into coconut flour pancakes. It is suddenly hard to cook when it feels like your daughter can’t “eat anything.”

      I read your blog today and was surprised by the article you mentioned! Seriously? I don’t think anybody should EVER have to eat something they don’t want to, or shouldn’t, in order to make a host/ess feel better about themselves!

  6. Clarissa

    I think having celiac disease would be TERRIBLE, especially because I love chocolate cake. I think the whole “gluten free” thing is yet another diet fad for all those without the disease. I do see how cutting a large amount out of one’s diet could be very healthy, but generally, I think it’s a way to sell self-help and diet books. Boo to diet fads!

    • Here are some videos that may be useful. Expressing your opinion is fine, however many celiacs and those who are gluten-sensitive (including myself) are probably visiting this page and may take offence. This is certainly not an ideal diet for any of us, as I highlighted above – I even mentioned a potential cure to the problem.

      Here are some great videos by Rodney Ford. They’re only short, he’s got the best sense of humour and I’m sure you’ll enjoy them: πŸ™‚

  7. I think a gluten free diet is great for those who need it but I don’t think it is a diet for everybody!!

  8. i had to go gluten-free for a long time (dr’s orders). it made me feel so much better… i had more energy. probably because it forces you to eat exceptionally well. i’ve had a flourless chocolate cake and it was amazing. it was the only dessert i could have while on the diet and it was a lifesaver. : ) overall, though, i think everything in moderation is always a good way to go. our bodies need balance.

  9. Me too! Chocolate cake just goes well with white flour, white sugar, etc. Not that I wouldn’t make adjustments if I needed to eat gluten-free, but thankfully I do not.

  10. I agree 100%. If I’m going to eat chocolate cake, I want it to be the most decadent, least healthy chocolate cake in the universe.

    (Like you, I don’t have gluten allergies. If I did, it would be another story.)

  11. Lori

    I’m just too lazy unless I HAVE TO be otherwise…if I don’t HAVE to watch what I’m eating, like labels and stuff – I don’t. The only thing I half way pay attention to is trying to make sure it’s WHOLE WHEAT and not something just fluffy…but as far as the gluten-free- that’s TOO MUCH work. HA! My dad is diabetic and I watch carbs on stuff for him, but again, that’s just because I have to and want to for his sake.

  12. I had to comment on this because:

    I am SO with you on how one should eat chocolate cake. πŸ™‚

    I am COMPLETELY against fad diets. I get so bent out of shape at those people who go on and on about being gluten free, but don’t actually need to.

    this conflicts with the fact that I have a sister and a few friends with celiac disease, and I appreciate the fact that the “faddish-ness” of the gluten free diet has really made it much easier to have celiac disease… there’s so many options out there now for people who literally CANNOT eat wheat, etc., products.

    Also, my other sister eats Paleo, and she is a different person on that diet. Fit, strong, no stomach, gas issues, etc. I tried it just for dinner for a few months, and the change in our family in the evenings was amazing. NO gas, way more energy. I wonder if my husband has a slight gluten intolerance because he has the hardest time losing weight when he’s working out a lot and eating very healthfully.

    So, at some point I might explore it more, but I love my chocolate cake the way you do, and I don’t see ever cutting it out completely, or altering recipes overly much to make it work… just limiting the amount. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

