Weighty Issues: Wk. 26

I’ve gained 10 pounds thus far in this pregnancy. Due to my battle with the scale AFTER Gooner was born, it is REALLY hard to see the scale go up.

It’s all for a good cause. Believe me. I get it. I feel her move…all the time. She’s a super happy reminder of why getting sick in the bathroom and why most food sounds gross to me. It’s worth it. And the clothing… If I could wear yoga pants all day every day, I think I’d be fine but my pregnancy jeans…have mercy! I just don’t feel like the adorable pregnant lady that I SEE at Target. I feel more like the blimp whose wedding rings no longer fit…

Self image is a tender thing. Even watching what I eat, I am noticing things changing…perhaps softening? I’ve been working out 6 days a week and THAT has been great YET, I KNOW what is coming…and I’m not talking about labor. I’m talking about that after labor JELLY feeling. When you realize you can touch your backbone through your stomach because your abs are GONE. And though you have just GIVEN BIRTH – the marathon of your life – you realize just how much work you have yet to do.

And truthfully, it will be here soon. I got a coupon in the mail that expires one day after Sooner is due.

Gooner and I tried to get a belly shot for you….it didn’t work.

Surprised that it is almost November and we are in spaghetti straps? Don’t be, it’s currently 77!!!!

Categories: Pregnancy, Weightloss | Tags: , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Weighty Issues: Wk. 26

  1. M

    You are doing GREAT!!!!

  2. Your baby girl is precious. With all 3 pregnancies I never worried about weight gain because I was too sick to care. I also didn’t care about taking pictures which I totally regret now. I think pregnant women are the absolute most beautiful. Wish I had some reminders of the time of my life.

    It’s summer where I live too.

    • Oh I know what you mean! I can’t believe I am still getting sick! It is the pits. On the sick days I don’t even worry about calories! Ice cream for supper? YES! 😉

  3. It was hard for me to watch the number on the scales climb the first time because I had such a fear of the weight not coming off after delivery. I was a size 6 when I got pregnant and was back in an 8 within a few weeks of her birth. I *really* hoped it would be like that the second time too, but it was different.

  4. Clarissa

    I love that top on you! Looking good, friend!

  5. you look so pretty. if there’s one time in life not to be too obsessed with the scale, it is now. i know it’s so hard to see it go up, but it is good for your lil baby girl. : ) sorry, not trying to sound like a mom, but i felt the same way you do… i needed people to tell me to relax a teensy bit. love ya!

  6. Errign

    Aw that picture is precious! Cute tops on both of you!

    I’ve obviously never experienced labor and whatnot, but I can imagine the sort of stress that comes with the body changes and the huge amount of working getting back into shape must feel like – ahhh. Well, before you know it, you’ll be whipped back into shape chasing two little ones around 🙂

  7. Cute picture! That color looks really good on you. And I would LOVE to live in Colorado. Maybe some day. 🙂

  8. It’s so hard to gain weight isn’t it? Even if you know it is for your baby. I have a feeling though, that this time will be so much different for you than last time. You are being so proactive and staying so healthy. Plus Gooner will keep you running around and busy. I can’t wait to read your post (in the future of course) about how great you are feeling and how those 10-20 pounds just melted away.

    can’t wait to see you on the 5th!

    • I can’t wait to see you either! You will have to give me tips on how to lose because you looked AMAZING right away. (I cheated and read old posts on your blog.)

  9. Even though pregnancy is a beautiful, miraculous thing…I agree. It is so hard to see those numbers go up! With Preston I gained 50! Determined to do better, I gained *only* 33 with Mckenzie. 😉 IF we have another, I’m wanting to improve on that number (easier said than done, ha!) You’re doing a great job and you look fantastic!!!

  10. Looking good! And sounds like doing well with the weight gain! WOW. So jealous. I gained something like 30 lbs with the first, 50 (yikes) with the second and 45 with the third. But, now my swim suits from my honeymoon are too big. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

