Week 37: Full Term

Phew, we made it. I think MOST Mom’s breathe a sigh of relief upon arriving at this bench mark. No NICU, no lengthy hospital stays, just healthy baby WHENEVER she’s ready. Clearly I look ready.

Be nice. This is AFTER a workout and swim!

Emotionally: I’m ready to meet her. I feel her little personality already emerging and I’m ready to call her by her name. Her REAL name…not Sooner. And we call her Sooner to each other and to everyone. Gooner calls her “baby sister.” We never use her name, but it’s SO CLOSE, we want to.

Physically: We are at the gym 3 days a week and I’m working out 3 days a week at home. This baby will NOT slow me down… Except when I need to pick something up off the floor… Or move quickly somewhere… Of course I have contractions every day, but nothing worthy of monitoring. Makes me wonder if we are in it for the long haul.

Gooner: Wants to “go to the doctor to pick up sister.” Apparently this is where babies come from….if only. She also placed socks on my belly the other day and told me to “put them on sister. Her feet’s cold.”

EDD: It feels weird. She could come “at any time” or she could come late in February. There is just no telling and it messes with my head that I don’t know the month. I want to know the month. Babies don’t work that way and I can’t PLAN accordingly. I don’t feel like she will come early. Secretly I’m afraid that she’s going to stay put and I’m going to end up in the midwives office in the middle of February talking about pitocin or something. Maybe by then I won’t care…?

Clothing: Nothing fits. I am huge, yet at the same timer there is still room to grow. Freaky. People have started using words like “pop” and “any moment.” I live in the same pair of yoga pants…every day. Q bought them for me; he probably hates them now.

2nd Pregnancy: This has been an easier pregnancy than Gooner, BUT having an active toddler…have MERCY! Walking to the park has become such a chore. I can walk to the park, but once there Gooner wants me to play with her. PLAY? Are you kidding me Mama needs to sit! Only problem is it is JANUARY and all the benches are covered in ice or snow and are made of freezing concrete. And THEN we need to walk back. And start supper. And clean up. And, And, And… Exhaustion.

YET this is my last month with JUST Gooner. Things are going to change and I often regularly struggle with change. Oh it will be good, hello Fabulousness that is our offspring!  BUT, it WILL be different. And no matter how good, I know there will be less energy for Gooner at the beginning. I’m not worried about multiplying my love, or loving either girl MORE or LESS. For the love, this Mama has loads of love to give, but ya know. Change.

Does anyone want to guess arrival date and time? You can guess weight if you want BUT if you guess over 9 pounds I’m going to be mad at you and I won’t forgive you until my hormones have worn off – which will be MONTHS from now. MONTHS. And I might send you hate mail.

Keep checking folks, at some point there will be an ARRIVAL post. And maybe a labor/delivery post. Do you want her birth story?

Categories: Pregnancy | Tags: | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Week 37: Full Term

  1. Josey

    You’re still working out six days a week?! That is awesome!

    I felt the same way when we hit 37 weeks – it is pretty bizarre knowing there is a five week window were it’s okay and normal for baby to be born. I’ll guess 38w4d (my bday) and 8# for birthweight.

    Can’t wait to read the birth story for sure!

  2. Awe, I can’t wait to hear about her. Yes, we want a birth story! I hope it’s quick and easy for you.

    You look great!

    (p.s. You should have her in July, because that’s my birthday….oh wait, you’re due in Jan/Feb? Hmmm…. Ha.)

  3. I’m going to say she’ll be here a day after her duedate, and she’ll weigh 7lbs14oz. And do we want the birthstory??? Do birds flap their wings???? Do fish swim?????
    You look great, even if you are stick-a-fork-in-me-I’m-done. {hugs}

  4. I am guessing January is when she comes…I bet you go early with how active you are. And a nice 7 lb baby naturally.

  5. I can so relate to keeping one kid busy when being pregnant and exhausted. I remember so many times taking Emry to the park and just sitting against a play structure in misery. At least she was good about finding friends to play with. Sometimes I would lay down on the grass wishing I could just fall asleep. It makes me appreciate the health I have now.

  6. Stephanie

    You are amazing! Can’t believe how much working out you are still doing. Way to go! I think she will come before your due date….just because you said you don’t think she will, haha!

  7. The Mommy

    You look great!!

  8. Girrrrrrl! You are looking good! I can’t believe you work out 6 days a week. You are a rock star. Of course we want to hear the birth story! I’m really bad a guess when a baby will arrive. I’ll think about it. 🙂

  9. You look great! For real. i am pretty sure if I just went to the gym and swimming I would look like death smacked me upside the head.
    OF COURSE I want the birth story. Did you really have to ask? 😉 ummm and sooner will be tiny of course.

  10. Oh my! You look wonderful. Seriously!!! I’m so happy for you and your upcoming blessing.It is a big adjustment going from 1 to 2…but I know you can handle it. You are an amazing Mommy, I just know it. And working out 6 days a week still? WoW!!! Also, the birth story? Yes pleas. 🙂

  11. What an exciting time for you! Wishing you all the best for the next few weeks and yes, we want to hear all about it! =D

  12. I’m impressed with how active you are staying. She will come when she is ready…who can guess? LOL

  13. Clarissa

    My mother said the easiest labor (and quickest) she ever had was with my 10 pound baby brother, so I’m not so sure there’s any reason for your hormones to hate me for several months if I were to guess that weight. However, I don’t think your baby is going to be that big. It’s going to come sooner than that. 🙂 I cannot wait to meet your newest family member!

  14. girl, any day now is fair play!!! hallelujah! rejoicing with ya! can’t wait to see this second baby girl of yours.

  15. Lori

    YES, birth story. Silly to even ask that question 🙂 AND you look great!

  16. So excited for you and your hubby and your little girl!! I hope for your sake she comes sooner rather than later! 🙂 You look amazing!

  17. January 21, 3:43 in the afternoon… 8 lbs 4 oz… yes, that’s my best estimation for reasons I’m not completely sure of. 🙂

    • Everyone is guessing early… do you think it is because everyone is afraid of my attitude??? 😉 Looks like a good date for a baby to me!

  18. You are SUCH an encouragement for staying active all the time, even through pregnancy!!

    Hmmm… I’ll say the 24th, 8 pds, 3 oz.

    Of COURSE we want the birth story! Of COURSE! 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear your good news!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

