Women’s Work

Oh wait…

Maybe not.

Q has been VERY helpful this pregnancy. I don’t think I could do it without him. It’s good the man can live on power bars and twigs and leaves because my cooking has SLOWED. I’m am beat at the end of the day and if it weren’t for him we wouldn’t have supper OR clean clothes. I haven’t turned into a lazy bum, my brain has just stopped working once I hit a certain exhaustion during the day. I should start using the crock pot. I’m open to all no brainer recipes if you have them!

Categories: Family, Marriage | Tags: | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Women’s Work

  1. I just made a recipe last night that is so simple. 2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken thighs topped with a mixture of 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 cup ketchup & 1/2 cup soy sauce and some garlic all mixed together. Cook in a crock pot on low for 6 hours or so. Remove sauce and add a little cornstarch that has been dissolved in 1 T water. Cook down sauce till it is nice and thick (on stove top) and add back to chicken. Serve over rice. Wasn’t sure I would like this dish but I did and it was super easy.

  2. Jamie G

    I’ve been using the crock pot a LOT lately. Put a hunk of cheap beef in there, cover with water and add pepper corns. Let it go all day. Shred it up and serve it however. If it’s a big hunk of meat, you can stretch it to a couple meals. YUM. Also, have your hubby cut up veggies on the weekend – a couple bell peppers, zucchini, carrots, butternut, broccoli (or buy the cheap frozen bags of broccoli)….at night just steam some up and serve with your beef – steamed butternut and squash will absorb whatever juices you put them in, so I always like to cover my steamed veggies with the left over beef stock and add some salt. (You should always salt your food if you’re eating non-processed foods.) I also like to put frozen cauliflower and butternut in a crockpot with chicken broth, a piece of ginger and cinnamon stick and let it go for 4-10 hours – however long I have. Put it through the blender, add some salt to taste and serve with whatever meat you want to toss in. It’s extremely good for you, the cauliflower makes it creamy, and just makes your tummy happy.

  3. Jamie G

    Oh…I forgot to add that I usually add a can of pumpkin to the soup when I’m putting it through the blender – between the pumpkin, ginger and cinnamon, it makes a yummy fall/winter soup!

  4. The Mommy

    Love that apron! So glad that he helps so much.
    I was single parenting for the last 8 weeks of my pregnancy and I can remember being SO tired at the end of the day. More than once I think I cried when I was cleaning up after dinner. And it was summer, so I was a hot mess.
    You are in the homestretch!!

  5. Errign

    Love that photo! So glad that Q is the super helpful type 🙂

    • Ha! My Mom made it specially for him! Before Gooner was born he wanted an apron to save his body from baby poop when changing diapers. He got over that REAL fast!

  6. Stacey

    Spray crock. Put 1 package frozen chicken breasts in the bottom. Top with taco seasoning (about 1 packet’s worth), 1-2 cups frozen corn, and 1 jar salsa. Cook on low for 8-10 hours. Shred meat and add 1 can black beans (drained and rinsed). Allow beans to heat through. Serve over rice or in taco shells or tortillas.

  7. The crock pot is my best friend. Soooooooup.

    Q in an apron has totally made my morning.

  8. Josey

    Chuck roast + can of beef consommé (or broth) + A couple Tbsp of Italian seasoning + jar of sliced peppercinis = delicious roast. Serve on hoagie rolls with slice of melty Swiss cheese. So delicious!,

  9. Chuck or Sirloin Roast. 5 cups water, one cup any combination of soy, worchestershire sauce or teriyaki sauce. Garlic, pepper, rosemary, bay leaf. Cook all day long, as long as possible. At least 10 hours, usually.

    Shred with fork, and serve on sandwich buns with swiss cheese, and the au jus for dipping the sandwiches in. One of our favorite crockpot meals.

    Hooray for a helpful husband, that is SO awesome!

  10. Ha…love that he’s even rocking an apron!
    You got a good man 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

