Update #2: Hello Due Date

So nice to see you! Would be nicer if I were meeting you with Sooner IN my arms, but alas I am not.

She is as snug-as-a-bug-in-a-rug. And for the most part I’m ok with that. BUT, as I want to avoid induction, I feel like the pressure is on! I have had practice contractions, cramps, lightning bolts through my lady parts and oh…

MY MILK CAME IN!

And still no baby. I will have HOURS of contractions only to have them stall JUST when I think – this could be it – they end and I feel fine. Dealing with that AND a toddler makes me READY! Oh so ready.

It looks like I could have a February baby after all! The midwives didn’t think I would make it to my next appointment TOMORROW, and clearly baby Sooner proved THEM wrong. And me. And all of you. πŸ˜‰ Although I did threaten you if you chose a date PAST today AND weight over 9 pounds so yah, babies come when babies come and THAT is the truth.

What is also the truth, is that the majority of women are induced BEFORE weeks 39 and 40 so waiting for a woman to spontaneously combust is quite rare.Β  People at the gym are SHOCKED that I am STILL pregnant and a typical question is, “how long will your doctor let you go?” And that, my friends, is a big difference between an ObGyn and a Midwife.

AND, as bad as I want this baby out, I want pitocin even LESS! And this means…we wait. Thanks for waiting with us! Life is most definitely NOT miserable, just getting pretty excited!

Categories: Pregnancy | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Update #2: Hello Due Date

  1. Keep strong! You are almost there. πŸ™‚ Could even still be today!

  2. You’re so close, Mama!!! You can do it! Ra! Ra! Ra Ra Ra! πŸ™‚

  3. Oof, sorry you’re still waiting ,but I hear ya on wanting to skip the whole pitocin contractions thing!!! I hope Sooner decides to join us SOON!!!

  4. Joanna G.

    The waiting gets so much harder once you pass your due date, but hang in there! Nobody has ever stayed pregnant forever!

  5. I was unaware that most women didn’t make it to 40 weeks. I just let my babies do their thing and they all came early. The 2 girls each came 2 days early and my son 2 weeks early, my husband wasn’t even in town! Oops.

    As great as medicine is, it’s not an exact science and when they give you a due date it’s really just an educated guess.

    Keep us all posted!!!!!

  6. I love that the words are wrote and pink. And I so wish I was near to give sooner a talking to and try to make her kick me and then kick her way out πŸ˜‰ maybe a j-nasty drink will do the trick! I request a belly shot before sooner arrives please πŸ™‚

  7. Praying for you and Miss Sooner-or-later! Maybe you’ll get that pretty purple birthstone for your momma’s ring!

  8. so i guess this is not a good time to tell you about a friend whose mom carried him for nearly 10 months….(you return the favor in aug when i’m in your shoes πŸ™‚

  9. Babies will come when they’re ready, for sure! Midwives are great, so I’m sure that they will tell you a few things to help you along. Maybe have your membranes stripped if they think that you are ready to go at anytime? She could still decide to come in January.
    Praying for you!!

  10. Oh my dear. Thinking about you, and praying for you, and hope she comes soon, and NATURALLY!!!!!

  11. Lori

    Thinking of you and your little family – excited!!!!

  12. Thinking of ya!!! And yay for milking coming in, not much fun when you have a baby and no milk for a couple days. Let’s take that as a sign that your body is in fact getting ready to care for Miss Sooner on the outside.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

