Week 2: Weighty Tuesday

I’m overweight. I KNOW I just had a baby…you don’t need to remind me. It’s NORMAL to have a jelly belly after your belly has been stretched HUGE and you have LARGE ta ta’s if you are breast feeding…which I am. I lost an initial 22 pounds and then did NOT pay attention and gained 5 pounds in a couple weeks. Who knows what happened, I was 3 weeks post baby and the body does crazy things after it has created a human. I didn’t sweat it. I lost a couple pounds. And THEN I remained the same. I don’t see this as a BAD thing because I honestly needed to know where I was.

I’m working out at a moderate level for 30 minutes 6 days a week.  My 6 week appointment is next week and THEN I will kick my workout program it into a higher gear. I feel great, but I don’t want to go CRAZY until the midwife says I can.

ANYWAY, I just had a baby and, based on my BMI, I sit pleasantly in the overweight category. Um, gross feeling! My body has changed AGAIN with baby number 2 AND these extra pounds are kinda yucky. Ok, not kinda, but definitely. I RESPECT what my body went through, but I REFUSE to sit idly by and see MORE pounds creep on or become complacent and buy clothes to fit my widened body.

That being said I am going to share with you – on Tuesdays – how I did. I LOVE fitness, but it is a lot harder to enjoy it when you are over weight and JUST had a baby. I’m not here to tell you what to do but to encourage you wherever you are in your journey. I DO believe you are what you eat. If you eat crap you will look and feel like crap. True story.

Childbirth is worth it, but boy it takes a toll on your body!

So that being said, I lost 2 pounds this week. How are YOU doing in your healthy lifestyle???

Categories: Weightloss, Wellness | Tags: , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Week 2: Weighty Tuesday

  1. Isn’t it just NUTS how hard childbirth is on your body? And now you’re in the fun part of recovery, which is enough to make the most easy-going of us all feel completely gross and crazy, so don’t stress it too much!!

    That being said, I think your goals are perfectly reasonable… do your best, and you’ll bounce back. Breastfeeding will help, a lot. You are such an encouragement to me to stay in shape through this pregnancy. Thank you for that.

    (Also, I found the second child was WAY harder on my body and my body image than the first.)

  2. The Mommy

    I think after the second baby I felt like my body was even more different than after the first baby. I was in pre-pregnancy clothes three weeks after having Maggie and still struggling a little after three months with Ellie. Sounds like you’re doing a great job!

  3. M

    Let me tell you about that second child!!!

  4. I know, I know. My boobs are wrecked so I feel your pain. It takes time unfortunately, so you have to have a little patience. I am excited to read your updates, is your plan to go to a gym or get a double stroller? I had a double baby jogger which I used a lot, I just had to move. For me diet makes the most impact. I focus really hard on eating healthy for the most part with a few small treats thrown in. When I am hungry and want a a treat at once (like everyday 1.5 hours after lunch) I have a big bowl of greek yogurt with some fruit and nuts or granola, so filling.

  5. I know how you are feeling! Although on one side of your brain you know you just had a baby, the other side wants you to be back where you feel comfortable. Both your little girls are darling!

  6. Lori

    I LOVE your weight and goals and exercise posts. LOVE THEM.
    And I also love that you’re not buying many clothes for this stage because you’re determined to lose the weight. I’m toying with buying some clothes right now, but I still wanna lose more weight, so I’m holding off. 🙂
    I bounced back much more quickly after having Sis (my second) than Bub. With Bub, I moved VERY LITTLE and gained 63 pounds.
    Didn’t lose much after having him and then BAM, got pregnant. But with Sis, I moved more and didn’t gain as much.
    I’m almost at my high school weight…but I still need MUCH MORE tone. Doing good, but it’s SLOW progress.

    • So glad you do! I feel that it always helps when I feel like I’m not alone! You are doing such a great job in your journey!

  7. You’re doing great! What’s your goal weight that you want to lose?

    You would be so proud of me! I’ve been working out 5 to 6 days a week!! 3 days of running and 3 days of workout classes. I’ve been doing that for about a month and haven’t lost a single pound! I may have even gained a pound, but I know to just keep with it. It will eventually come. 🙂

  8. I gained weight back too after I lost a lot of it due to family being in town and not eating like I usually do. But I’m not sweating it, just getting back to my healthy ways!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

