Zumba = Latin Burlesque

20120713-072332.jpg

Do u remember when I did that burlesque workout from Crunch Workout? I STILL get hits from people searching burlesque related things and landing on that post. Funny, those folks don’t normally stay around to chat. I guess this here blog isn’t what they were looking for. Imagine that.

Let me begin. I had a LOT of fun. In fact Q offered to keep the girls so I can go and shake my money maker workout with my friends on a regular basis.

At first I felt like a dork. A big one. Clearly doing aqua Zumba at nine months pregnant did not make me a Pro. Zumba-er. I don’t know what I was thinking but I wasn’t planning on losing four pounds of water weight via sweat in our one hour of dance. Or smelling the girl behind me. She was stinky. And there was zero smiling from her. This was serious.

Then there was psycho Asian lady. She was size negative and preferred to hop around, you know instead of salsa, like we were supposed to. She needed six square feet around her or she would hop on you. Don’t watch her, she doesn’t know what she is doing.

Then you have Ms. Misinformed. She is 65 and wearing a weird outfit. She thought it was a belly dancing workout and so her belly bangles chimed the.whole.time. I wasn’t annoyed at all. And neither was Cupcake, our dance leader. Er Zumba instructor.

Truth be told, I had a lot of fun! I laughed a lot. It was an amazing workout. I will do it again and you should try it. BUT be willing to laugh at yourself and others. Be willing to learn your inner sexy dance and then do that in public.

Nervous yet? Don’t be. Let loose and have fun! I did.

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Zumba = Latin Burlesque

  1. There’s always one er..two who don’t like to follow instructions. For those wanting to try I say try and if you feel uncoordinated then you are doing it right. It takes time and don’t let one class decide the fate of your future Zumba attendance.

  2. I love this post! Happy dancing!

  3. The Mommy

    I love the way that you describe the people around you! I always wonder what those people are thinking!!

  4. Clarissa

    🙂 Four pounds?! Wow. I’m glad you had fun!

  5. Zumba sounds so fun!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

