Baby Wearing

 

 

is handsome.

Gooner came home from the gym telling me, “I’m black. The naughty boy told me I’m black.” She held her arm up to mine, frowned and said “hmmmmmm.” THEN she walked off and played with her toys. She is 3 1/2 years old. For some reason I thought I wouldn’t deal with this until later. I’ve been telling her for years that we ARE different and that it is a wonderful thing. And me… I make one good lookin’ Cowboy:

Categories: Family, Outdoors, Parenting | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Baby Wearing

  1. The Mommy

    I think it’s so cute that she compared her arm to your arm! And yes, three and a half seems so young!
    Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog. I love watching your kids grow up!

  2. Mmmm – nothing better than a man wearing a baby! That’s a gorgeous photo!

    Have you read Nurture Shock? I’m not a huge fan of reading books having to do with parenting, but this one is AWESOME, and it has a totally great chapter on race and why we really shouldn’t ignore it instead of talking openly about it (even from a young age). I dunno – just thought you might find it interesting!

  3. Kids are so cute, it’s interesting how matter of fact they are. I must say though I am surprised it hasn’t come up sooner. She will take the best from her dad and the best from you, looks, talents and personality, that’s why kids should always be better than us.

    You’ve been in my thoughts with your two little ones because there is absolutely nothing harder than raising good kids, especially wee little ones, oh my gosh it is challenging.

  4. I love that you teach your daughter to embrace being different…YES, it is a wonderful thing!! She is beautiful, and that “naughty little boy” would probably choose his words MUCH differently in another 10 years. Such as your skin is “dark and GORGEOUS?!?”

    And men wearing babies is a wonderful sight! I wonder if I can convince Joel that it’s manly and WONDERFUL this time around…Hmm. Maybe I need to show him your pic? 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

