Surviving Suburbia, Or Not

Suburbia is NOT my American Dream… if such a thing exists. Every dream is different. I either want a 10 foot fence – no too stifling – or wide open spaces…no longer suburbia.

The neighbor came over yesterday to say goodbye. I actually had tears. You see, houses in our neighborhood went up 59 %. You guys, that’s ridiculous. THAT is why they are calling Colorado the next California. The neighbors are leaving because it is SO expensive to live here. Too expensive. A forced moved. We all got the dreaded assessment slips in the mail. Normally I wait to open the mail until I get home, but this time I couldn’t. And it was worse than expected. Unless you want to sell. Since getting our cards in the mail FOUR houses have popped up within walking distance.

It’s hard not to pack up everything and head for the hills. I mean, will our house ever be worth this much? EVER? Probably not. I really just want to pack everything up and LEAVE SUBURBIA. I can’t stand the drunken summer parties and the gossip.

The gossip. You guys. Mud is slung so fast around this place. Nothing is off limits. Then there are the Facebook groups. Who is getting fined for what and who is leaving their shopping carts in the parking lot instead of putting it in the cart return. One woman commented saying, “People who don’t put their carts away probably voted for Trump. They have no souls.” Really? Let’s complain about people who leave their trash cans out and the bears come out to feast. In fact two weeks ago a neighbor’s dog got eaten. We received a notice from the Sheriff to keep our children inside after dark. Let’s complain about THOSE people if we HAVE to. Which we don’t.

We have neighbors that legit walk around with jello-shots on cookie sheets during the summer. With mason jars filled with vodka. All judging my man and I because we don’t want to drink neon gelatin from a Dixie cup. Murmurs of us “thinking we are too good for them” and longtime arguments over a fence can be heard from various states of inebriation.

So it’s hard. It’s hard not to leave the rat race and disappear into obscurity. To sell high and leave all the traffic and drama behind. Buuuuut we won’t, at least not yet. Sometimes you have to do hard things…like pay a HUGE increase in taxes. Listen to gossip around you. And see the “good neighbors” go. To understand that feelings come and go and you can’t make decisions on how you feel. Even though I want to.

Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE our house and I’m so very thankful I have it to come home to every day. I love having a yard and not hearing neighbors above me. I love the space and the huge bathtub. I absolutely LOVE having an attached garage. And two cars. I truly love my family and THAT is what matters.

Categories: Family | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Surviving Suburbia, Or Not

  1. Okay, I had to laugh at this a little bit. I *totally* understand your frustration, but I also love jello shots and vodka in mason jars. Bear with me…

    Our property assessments just came out as well – up 20%+ since the last valuation 2 years ago (which was also up 11% from the one before that). Not nearly as much as yours (59%? holy shit!) Shitty b/c we have no intention of selling right now, but also not the worst b/c it shows our economy is coming back and HOLY BALLS does my husband’s concrete company need that. I basically have a love/hate relationship with property valuations right now.

    At any rate, the gossip would kill me. We live in town, but thankfully with a population of 1,000, it’s not exactly suburbia. Sure there is talk throughout the town about things, but I’m guessing not the same as your situation. It is a 50/50 split here with Hillary/Donald supporters, so that keeps things “interesting.”

    That being said, I’m a huge supporter of whole foods & healthy living & active lifestyles… and we usually celebrate the end of that crazy hike or run or ski day with jello shots or cold beers or (yes) drinks in mason jars. To be fair, mason jars are all we use in our house because they are cheap & fairly indestructible with our kiddos, so at least we’re not just trying to be hipsters, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

